We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food here is divine!”
Review of The Cheese Society

The Cheese Society
Ranked #14 of 464 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Specialist cheese shop and cheese eatery, located in the Cathedral Quarter of Lincoln. We stock a wide range of local, British & Continental cheeses and serve a select range of hot and cold cheeses dishes. Enjoy loose teas, fresh coffee, wines, beers, ales, ciders and soft drinks
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went up to Lincoln for the weekend with a friend and The Cheese Society was recommended to us. The place was buzzing and obviously very popular which I always think is an excellent sign, the staff were friendly and the food was incredible! I would definately recommend the cheese souffle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loz694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAOM52, Owner at The Cheese Society, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Very glad you enjoyed your visit to The Cheese Society - the double baked cheese souffle is one of our house specialities, would be lynched if I tried to take that off the menu. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 497 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a lovely place! Especially for cheese lovers.

The atmosphere is welcoming and friendly.

The menu is to die for! Honestly could have ordered one of everything.

It's such a shame I do not live closer as most lunches I would be there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gnjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAOM52, Owner at The Cheese Society, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

You will have to keep coming back and work your way through our menu! Really pleased you enjoyed your lunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Cannot fault it, food was out of this world, service was friendly and helpful, prices reasonable. Very busy - but that reflects it;s popularity

Thank scottanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAOM52, Owner at The Cheese Society, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your visit hope we see you again soon. It means a lot to the staff when they get good reviews such as yours - many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

When visiting Lincoln for the Christmas markets happened to discover this little gem of a place for lunch. Food was delicious - would recommend.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAOM52, Owner at The Cheese Society, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

The Christmas Market can be quite hectic so pleased you found us as we are just tucked away off the top of the High Street. Lincoln is a wonderful place to visit at any time of the year so hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had an excellent lunch and breakfast the following day, a great range of cheeses, plus a really nice cafe/nitro attached, we had a mixed antipasto sharing platter which had some fantastic salami, tallegio and manchego cheeses, artichoke paste, olive tapenade, and crusty bread, the Rioja we also had was excellent, and the puddings wouldn't have been out of place in a Michelin starred restaurant, I had chocolate brownie and salted caramel sauce, my wife had creme brûlée with roasted rhubarb. The next morning we had cooked breakfasts , which were top notch, good luck to them with there new shop as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank olivetreeburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAOM52, Owner at The Cheese Society, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Many thanks for your review, and really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and to Lincoln. Very nice to have met you both and hope to see you again when you both get time in your busy schedules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheese Society also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Cheese Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing