We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Pyewipe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pyewipe Inn
Ranked #19 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nice location very close to road but has good sound insulation so no noise issues, short ride along canal bank to city centre so very good position. Good bed, very comfortable, good full bath with shower, lovely fluffy towels and some nice toiletries. Breakfast OK I had full English which was 1 smallish sausage, 2 bacon , 1 egg, mushrooms 1/2 tomato and 1 slice of toast. Perhaps should have asked for more toast, wifey had 2 really fresh tasty yellow yoked poached eggs and 2 toast. Bar was very quiet when we got back both nights at about 10:30 pm but we were able to get a nightcap. Bad bits ;no wifi in room on iPad, could just get signal standing in window ,room 12 facing pub, on nexus. Only 10 parking places by rooms so get there early or park 60 meters away in main car park hence 3 star! Friendly helpful staff , bar prices reasonable ,good menu though we did not eat except breakfast we noted the car park was full for lunch and early evening. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 327 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent stay for 2 mature couples. Excellent setting at the side of the canal with ample parking. A 35-minute, nice leisurely walk along the canal or a few minutes drive to the centre of Lincoln.
ACCOMODATION – Set in a lodge separate to the Inn thus avoiding the noise of the busy Pub / Restaurant. Rooms clean and comfortable could do with WiFi available in the lodge. STAFF - Very helpful and obliging. FOOD - Evening meal excellent and were helpful with a dietary requirement. Cooked breakfast was good but lacked variety for those not wishing to have a cooked breakfast. Good value for money. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John69256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Pyewipe Inn overlooks the on the Fossdyke waterway whilst accomodation is in a separate block across the car park. Our ground floor room was very clean and well decorated. Bathroom was also clean and warm. Shower cubicle was not the biggest but the shower was warm and powerful.

Accommodation was very quiet and peaceful though we were only minutes away from the city of Lincoln. We ate in the inn and the food was first class and a very reasonable price. Staff were polite and attentive without being obtrusive. The food was served on large plates and was delicious. Sadly a lack of room prevented sampling the puddings.

Lincoln is a half hour walk away, the marina at Burton Waters a little further the other way. In short, wonderful location, friendly people, superb food. The Pyewipe went straight on our 'must re-visit' list.

Room Tip: Upstairs to the rear will ensure quietness and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mister216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Called on the off the chance midday, on a Tuesday for a spot of lunch, having never been before, it was a pleasant surprise to find this lovely inn tucked away by the river about a half mile down a lane from the main road. The inn was very nice, with pleasant staff, and although it was a Tuesday lunch it was still very busy, which tells how good the food is. We ordered our food, which only took about 15 mins, and it was excellent. I will certainly be eating here again soon, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this pub to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night to sample a bit of Lincoln. Staff very pleasant and helpful upon arrival. We had a double room which was clean and tidy, a good nights sleep was had due to quiet location. (the rooms are in an annex away from the restaurant/pub). Value for money was good for the accommodation compared to other Hotels nearby, didn't eat in the restaurant but have been told food is excellent and all tables were booked that night anyhow. Breakfast was average, no beans with the Full English and one sausage? Only thing to watch out for are the totally unnecessary speed bumps on the very narrow lane to the hotel, they are not marked very clearly and we hit the first one without knowing. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicksterHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise and it was lovely, stayed overnight had evening meal in pub very nice, service a bit slow but it was busy. Rooms were lovely and a little a way from the pub so not noisy, very spacious. You can walk into Lincoln along the canal it takes about 20-30 mins and its a lovely walk very flat. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.You do need to watch for signs as you get near as its down a little track/road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Pyewipe over the weekend, I cannot praise this delightful Inn highly enough. The warmth of the welcome, the cleanliness of the room,the comfort of the bed, but above all the food.
My wife had the Souffle to start, quite amazing in flavour, texture,and a total melt in your mouth experience. The rump steak was cooked to perfection, the best I have ever had.
I cannot fault this superb, hotel and cannot wait to return. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.9 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
769 reviews
1.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
1.8 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#4 of 51 in Lincoln
601 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creston Villa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pyewipe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pyewipe Inn

Address: Saxilby Road, Lincoln LN1 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: $104 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pyewipe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Pyewipe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyewipe Hotel Saxilby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing