We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lincoln
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveler rating
586
321
93
42
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
586
321
93
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reform restaurant franklin room junior suite no lift courtyard room steep hill eggs benedict lovely hotel coach house car park small hotel the main hotel breakfast was excellent pubs and restaurants excellent location bailgate area great shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2020

An ideally located hotel for visiting the old sites of Lincoln. An extremely helpful receptionist throughout our stay which contributed to our enjoyment. Very good food. We sampled both the restaurant and bar menu. Room very warm and comfortable. Excellent shower facility. If you are looking for a base to stay to explore the local sites, then this is absolutely perfect. We did not need to use the car throughout our stay and that has to be a benefit too!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBeech18, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Susan W

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

excellent hotel friendly staff great breakfast spotless value for money ideal location 3 very good pubs near by and to good resturants with local shops the castle and cathedral just a short walk down the hill to the main shopping centre

Room tip: any rooms are ok
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 587garryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBeech18, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the hotel. Your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Stayed overnight in traditional room (Bader). Staff fab; room clean but smaller than I expected; evening meal and breakfast in Reform restaurant lovely. Will return but will try a suite for larger room.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gillybart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBeech18, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019

Service excellent with very helpful staff. Room was compact but clean and comfortable. Great position near cathedral and castle. Reasonable price for a nights stay and food was well presented and enjoyable.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank serwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBeech18, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

On the 13th December we stayed in the Franklin room with great views of both the Cathedral and Castle. The bed and breakfast were great. However, the room dividing walls did not provide any sound proofing. The guests in the room next door were playing loud music until 1am Saturday morning and started again at 7am that same morning. We could clearly hear them trying to talk above the music. We had very little sleep.

The bedroom and bathroom were very cold, which was not helped by single glazing to the windows over looking the Castle. These windows condensed almost immediately on our arrival and you could not see out of the window. A small portable electric heater was stored in the wardrobe, which we had to use in the bathroom - a very dangerous practice. There is only a heated towel rail in the bathroom - there is no radiator !! As a chartered surveyor, I would advise that the radiator in the bedroom needs to be larger and a similar unit needs to be fitted in the bathroom.

In the bathroom, grout is missing from some floor joints and the silicone around the bath is deteriorating. The carpet to several steps of the stairs leading to the room were threadbear - we did record this at our last stay but mothing has been done.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C6709KDphilipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBeech18, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I do apologies about the guest next door to you. We would always encourage you to call the person on-call in the hotel who can address these issues late at night.

Only one of the windows in the bedroom is single glazed because it is original, the second is double. I will have a look into the points raised to try and resolve some of them. We would never encourage guests to place an electric radiator inside the bathroom and is not its intended purpose.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews