We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel in a great location”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here as a last minute booking and not even knowing the layout of Lincoln! So glad we picked The Castle! The owner was great - gave us a map of Lincoln and recommended a nice pub nearby, he also went out of his way to ensure there was a parking space big enough for our car! The hotel is on a quiet street in the old part of town just by the cathederal and castle which makes it a beautiful location and within easy walking distance to the main attractions of Lincoln. The room was lovely - not an overly big room but nicely furnished with low key lighting and a rainfall shower. Breakfast was great - there are menu options (the scrambled eggs were amazing) and a continental buffet. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 865 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked at short notice for a trip north to visit an ill relative. What a pleasant surprise. Great welcome and very clean, well appointed room with up to the minute decor. Much better than dreary motel chains.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lovely looking hotel inside and out.
Tasteful decor in common areas and rooms.
Dinner and breakfast were excellent, though I found it slightly off putting when there was a member of staff setting the tables for breakfast when we were still having dinner.
We stayed at the top in a lovely decorated room which seemed quite romantic looking at the stars from bed but we were awake very early because the window in the roof had no blinds.
The bathroom was very large but did not have the same vibe as the bedroom and was very plain and looked as if the same attention to detail has not been shown to it.
Well located at the top of the hill with lots of pubs and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

First trip to Lincoln , a romantic break. This small hotel delivered above our expectations. A very friendly welcome, rooms well decorated , food of a high standard and served exactly to our requirements. Staff went the extra mile to ensure our requirements were met.. Not a case of us fitting in with what the hotel could provide. . If you do visit this hotel don't expect a porter at the door to take your case , or expect 24 hour reception or expect the reasturant to stay on call all day to provide you food all day as offered by the big chains...
We were seeking quality time to recharge and be together ... The castles informal but intimate setting allowed this to happen.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandcLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had dinner there with friends, food was very nice. Stayed the night Our room (Gibson) very very small, thought £130 was a bit over priced for room. However Great Shower and lovely breakfast more made up for the smaller than average room size. The bar closes at 11 which I think is a bit early for a sat night few days before Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison_barr_johnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Splashed out (relatively) on a superior room for a weekend away and Sue's first visit to Lincoln. Arrived very early and staff couldn't have been more helpful around looking after baggage and we had to tell them that we didn't need the room until much later to stop them trying to rush the room cleaning. Its a great location for the Castle (obviously), the Cathedral and some really good individual shops - particularly recommend Lincoln Soap company. The walk down Steep Hill (does what it say's on the tin) is bracing and the Harding House Gallery is well worth a visit, some lovely glass and ceramics. However the walk back up the hill sorts the fit from the not - thank goodness for th Mayor's Seats halfway up.
The rooms are a good size, well furnished and we slept very well. I loved the monsoon shower, although Sue missed a bath but we'll be happy to return. Beakfast was amongst the best I've had in the UK and I have to give special mention to the Eggs Benedict - divine! All in all a great place to stay and eat in Lincoln.

Room Tip: Didn't see the standard rooms, but the superior rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Room 107 has walls that are so thin that you could hear every word of the telephone conversation in the next door room. Bathroom was tiny with the most noisy extractor fan in the world. On the plus side the staff are wonderful and the location is excellent for boutique style shopping. Car park was convenient but signing to hotel was not present!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms fronting onto road as they are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruntbugley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,852 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: $117 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle hotel and Reform Restaurant is a luxury standard hotel located at the heart of Lincoln's historic quarter, nestled between the historic castle and magnificent cathedral offering views of both the Castle is the perfect location for both leisure and business guests. Reform restaurant at the Castle is an award winning restaurant serving modern European cuisine in a decadent yet relaxed setting. The Castle Bar is open to all for a few drinks or a quick snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing