We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than the Museum of Lincolnshire Life”

The Collection / Usher Gallery
Ranked #8 of 76 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the heart of historic Lincoln, The Collection brings together Lincoln's archaeology museum and the Usher Gallery in one fantastic visitor centre. The Collection includes a wealth of artefacts from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman, Saxon, Viking and Medieval eras as well as fine, decorative and contemporary visual arts. Now Open.....Play at The Collection is a free activity centre, bright and engaging there's lots for younger children to do and a safe play space for babies. There is also plenty for older children to do in the museum including interactives, mosaic making and trails to follow.Enjoy our newly refurbished cafe run by Lincoln's premier tea and coffee specialists, Stokes of Lincoln.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
562 reviews
395 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Much better than the Museum of Lincolnshire Life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit here even if there isn't all that much to do. The museum itself is contained in one big room, and as such it didn't take too long to get around. Nevertheless, there are some nice exhibits here; I particularly enjoyed the Roman exhibit. Sadly, and in their infintite wisdom, the members of Lincolnshire County Council opted to have their October half-term a week before the majority of the country, as a result all the kid-related activities had already taken place. There were craft activities set up for kids, but these were reserved for school parties and my two were very disappointed not to be able to do these.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank durham05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    160
    31
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Free and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Didn't go into the gallery, just the museum part which was very spacious and every exhibit was extremely well labelled. Staff very helpful and lots of interactive opportunities for the children (2 of mine being in their 30s and also my wife) who had a great time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian-atAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
209 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Free family outing, recommended for kids under 12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you have at least an hour to spare and want to educate your kids about Lincolnshire's history in a fun and interactive way, this place is a sure bet! Beautifully designed and airy from the onset, the large hall is a collection of artifacts and displays that date Lincolnshire's evolving existence from the Stone Age to the Medieval period, and then some. [My favourite was the bit of excavated Roman mosaic under the glass floor.] Interactive touch screens, dress-up clothes, and hands-on activities makes this visit more interesting, esp. with kids. And it's FREE! We paid $3 for the kids' iGuide, which I recommend for history buffs--very entertaining for kids 8+ yrs. There is a separate play area near the entrance for 0-5yrs with guardians to relax and play, plus backpacks that kids may borrow to visit the museum with and keep busy with its contents as accompanied adults can then peruse with less distraction from the little ones. We missed out on the dining experience at Stokes but it looked very attractive, modern and clean, like the museum itself. We missed the Gallery too. Highly recommended, esp. on a hot or rainy day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canucksontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Key stage 3 attraction?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

As a museum lover, I am very disappointed with the collection in Lincoln. It seems purpose built for school trips only. They seem to have focused and invested more in the standard shop and cafetria. It is ok, is you have a child with you who wants to dress as a roman. If you want to visit a more traditional museum, visit the museum of Lincolnshire life on Burton Road.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small but well worth the visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A mix of wonderful pieces and paintings, some superb enamels, watches and paintings.
Upstairs sculptures and paintings worth a look especially my favourite pic "Bric a Brac".
Staff interesting and very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CALVINScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Collection / Usher Gallery also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Collection / Usher Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing