We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The modern contrast to ancient Lincoln’s dining venues.”

Stokes Collection Cafe
Ranked #103 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Say hello to the newest member of the Stokes cafe family, Stokes Collection Cafe. Housed within the Collection Museum, a stone's throw from the Usher Gallery and beautiful Temple Gardens, Stokes Collection Cafe offers museum visitors (or those sneaky souls who just make a beeline for the cakes) a modern haven filled with Stokes goodness. Peruse our menu and choose from the signature collection of blended speciality teas or freshly roasted coffees, or try something even more special from the Brew Bar at Stokes. Our freshly made crepes always tempt a museum-goer or passer-by, especially with live musicians in session to help you sit back and relax. Our menu is bursting with delicious homemade treats, starring lots of locally sourced ingredients of course, and you can enjoy a weekend treat with our Weekend Brunch menu featuring Eggs Benedict, Butterscotch Waffles, and even a sparkling Mimosa or two. We also do some great gluten-free options, and the little 'uns will love our children's menu and play area. Not wishing to neglect our furry visitors, our dog-friendly menu at Stokes Collection Cafe will keep pooches happy whilst they bask on the outdoor terrace. Stokes Collection Cafe is quickly becoming the go to venue for event hire in Lincoln. We cater for weddings, birthday parties, anniversaries, and more. We also host top notch music event throughout the year, so don't forget to join our guest list to be the first to hear about our next soiree.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The modern contrast to ancient Lincoln’s dining venues.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013



We have been several times now for lunch at this architecturally stunning venue. Excellent service every time, matching the fine coffees and healthy eating options. The food though not Michelin class is great value, tasty and presented well.
Excellent for young families and for couples, I hesitated as to whether or not advertise it on Tripadvisor or to keep for myself!

Top tip, do make use of the toilet facilities, the architect ensured those spending a penny would not be bored.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ali208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience of Stokes at the collection.
We are very pleased that you have found the service and food to your liking. The food offering is indeed very different to our more traditional High Bridge Café...
Whilst aiming to maintain the same level of quality and value for money, we have worked hard to develop a contemporary style menu that would match the venue which is, as you mentioned it, a stunning architectural masterpiece... The crêpes, paninis and daily dishes are becoming increasingly popular during the week and we are now offering a Sunday Brunch between 10 am and 2 pm which too, is proving to be an extremely popular & a welcome alternative to the traditional Sunday Roast...
We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    15
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big improvement on former restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a big improvement on the former restaurant. The menu is far superior. It's clean and well run. Staff are friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit. Prices are about average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OptimistEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive & encouraging feedback!
Stokes took over the running of the Collection café in November 2011 and we have worked hard to “turn it around” to what it is today...Your comments indicate that we are on the right track! We have developed a contemporary menu that offers crêpes, paninis, sandwiches, salads, daily hot dishes, cakes and pastries -all homemade- as well as our famous coffees & teas.
We also aim to cater for coeliac diets, with our gluten free offerings as well as offering a children’s menu that is both healthy & different...
There is even a doggy menu for dog owners that sit on the outside seating area!!
We hope to welcome you back soon & thank you for taking the time to write such positive review.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The collection..a real must..”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Its a hidden treasure..as it is set just off the main walkway up the steep hill..could do with a good sign, its a great place to get refreshments before or after the hill climb.
The food is great wether you just want a cuppa and slice of cake or a great snack...im looking forward to visiting again for the new sunday brunch menu..it sounds great!!
Also great to look round the museum..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie71Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Stokes at the Collection and for your positive comments.
The Collection is indeed a hidden treasure and is slightly off the beaten track, but once it has been found, we hope it won’t be forgotten! The café, situated in the modern Collection museum (next to the Usher Art Gallery) is definitely a "must-see" in Lincoln and is the perfect place to stop off as you pointed out, either before: climbing Steep hill, or on the way down back into town....
And we like to think that the homemade cakes and pastries are worth making a slight detour our way...
The Sunday Brunch is now proving to be very popular and we hope to welcome you to sample some of its delights soon!
Once again thank you for your positive comments.

The Managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Local coffee”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stokes is a local chain coffee shop, with a traditional tea-room in the City Centre on High Bridge, and a more modern shop at The Collection. Having briefly visited here in June 2012, we made for here for a nice coffee after a day in the high town. Prices are comparable to those other brand coffee shops, but Stokes has something they don't - locality.

The staff at The Collection site are lovely. They do a good array of coffees, teas and hot chocolates, with cakes to suit everyone. The Works Hot Chocolate is particulary recommended.

The cafe itself is spotless, modern, warm and comfortable and makes for a nice break whilst attacking Steep Hill (you will need to divert right at the bottom of Steep Hill, before entering The Strait).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments!
Our two cafés are indeed very different: the High Bridge café in a 16th Century unique building is very traditional, whereas Stokes at the Collection offers a contemporary menu to match the surroundings... We aim to offer the same level of service and quality at both establishments and we are pleased to note that we have succeeded!
All our coffees are roasted in the city centre since 1902, albeit in a more modern & eco-friendly coffee roaster these days, and we do try to offer the best drinks in town...
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us so positively and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Lincoln.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stokes Collection Cafe also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Stokes Collection Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing