We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshingly friendly!”
Review of Cafe Portico

Cafe Portico
Ranked #31 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fully licensed premises serving a wide selection of delicious homemade and locally sourced food throughout the day. We are the perfect venue for a private party. Birthdays and engagements, clubs and societies, office parties and any other festive occasion. We create bespoke menus and provide all the services you will need to make your event one to remember.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Refreshingly friendly!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I visited Lincoln for three days to attend a stone carving course. The workshop was directly opposite Café Portico so discovered it easily. Enjoyed teas, toast and sandwiches during my three day visit. The food is good and the surroundings pleasant. The real gem is the friendly staff fo whom nothing is too much trouble. I will visit the next time I am in Lincoln and urge you to if you want a good experience with real service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kby121148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    25
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good value”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited Cafe Portico on many occasions and good value for money, food is of good quality with friendly staff. On last two occasions I have asked for my coffee to be extra hot but was no different and resulted in coffee being drunk straight away........

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholaswelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sandwich & Cakes”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Have been here about 6 times. Sandwich and coffee at lunch time along with a couple of evenings where they have had a small band playing. Small venue that offers a personal service

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTowHouses2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Simple but very effective :)”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We called in after a visit to Lincoln Market - everywhere on the main drag back into town was packed, but we followed a sign that a (very frozen-looking) girl was holding up on the main street. We were pleased we did - the staff were really great, welcoming and friendly, and the menu was simple but very good. We both went for the "Christmas Market deal" which was a main of pasta with a choice of sauce and additions (chicken,olives, etc.), plus a Prosecco and panetone to follow for £10. Excellent value - we both had big plates of pasta in tasty sauces (mine was pesto and green beans and olives, my friend went for tomato with chicken and cream) which came with a side salad, and the Prosecco was a generous 200ml bottle each. We felt very well looked after and very well fed :) Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoy visiting especially on theme nights”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have been on a couple of theme nights (Live music) and it has been top notch every time, nice atmosphere, good food and wine. Its not a large place so if you want to go to a music night book early as they are always full.
Sim, the proprietor is a really nice guy and the staff are really pleasant. Cant wait to return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roombooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Portico also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Cafe Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing