We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bronze Pig
Ranked #7 of 467 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $60
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yes - Lincoln is short of good restaurants - having read the latest reviews was hesitant in eating here this evening but have to say we were not disappointed! Food was excellent - service likewise. Initially we only expected to have an entree and main, however, the food was to such a high standard that we could not skip the opportunity of sampling the desert, which again did not disappoint. The portions were correct and not over facing.
Overall, we would not hesitate in returning to this restaurant and will recommend to all our friends.

Well Done to the Owner, Chef and Staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LUCETTELIMITED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for deciding to dine at The Bronze Pig. We are glad our standards met with your approval and thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 918 of 992 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall very disappointed with our experience here after reading so many positive reviews.

Most of the food was good, if not outstanding, but with the prices being charged the kitchen need to raise their game significantly. It simply is not good enough to take nearly 45 minutes to serve cold starters which are mainly already prepped and just need plating. Neither is it good enough to serve main courses in stages and leave half a table of 4 watching other plates of food go cold. Really basic stuff for a restaurant with obvious pretensions but unsurprising when the most entertaining thing was the open kitchen from which you could watch the head chef and a single other chef panic their way through service. Margins must be tight, the kitchen too small, or the rest of the brigade were off sick perhaps?

Maybe we visited on a particularly poor night, but at £8 for starters and deserts such nights shouldn't exist.

Had the food been as billed we might have been more willing to take it on the chin but only a couple of the dishes received serious praise from our party.

I've read another similar review where security tapes were reverted to in the restauranteur's response. Maybe sort out these issues and you will get even more returning custom?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank hohum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for the review. We regret that we did not meet with your expectations. I am however a little confused by your comment in the first paragraph : “ the food was mostly good , if not outstanding” followed by: “…only a couple of the dishes received serious praise from our party”. The average cost of a 3 course meal at The Bronze Pig is around £32.00 which is good value.
We pride ourselves in providing a fine dining experience in an intimate and unhurried atmosphere. Tables are not double booked which allows customers to occupy the table for the entire evening so that the dishes are not hurried and we ensure that each table is given a generous ‘personal space’ which restricts capacity to 22 -24 covers. We could fit another 2 to 3 tables but we choose not to in order to allow intimate dining. Where in your case we have 4 diners, 2 are served the main course and if the other 2 have a different main course, this will be served 2 minutes later as each dish is prepared and plated by our masterchef finalist. Hardly time enough for the first to go cold. We are not interested in providing a fast food experience.
We can assure you that the chef and sous chef were not panicking their way through the service. Our kitchen is open to view because we have nothing to hide.
We will remain true to our vision and welcome positive and constructive advice from well wishing customers who share our vision. Such advice is taken seriously and if it fits our objectives, it is put into action. We have no problem in attracting return custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a quaint and perfect setting for a romantic evening celebrating your anniversary, we were welcomed warmly by pompeo who was a fantastic host, we were sat in the most comfortable and warming restaurant we've ever experienced, our waitress was very professional and knowledgable the food was exquisite and was a joy to watch being prepared, we were informed that the table was ours for the night which was refreshing we were never rushed with our courses and given time to enjoy the ambience and each others company, again our host took time out to tend to our needs ensuring our night was extra special, nothing was to much trouble and the extra touches were appreciated, we look forward to our next visit at this excellent restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are glad that you came to The Bronze Pig to celebrate your anniversary and we are delighted that we helped to make it " an anniversary to remember". Having guests like yourselves who appreciate what we are trying to deliver, is our reward. Thank you for coming and writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We wanted something “a bit special” for our wedding anniversary meal and had decided on the Bronze Pig, after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and the recommendations of friends.
So we saved up our loose change in my Spurs moneybox and booked a table on Saturday evening.
The location is fairly near the City Centre in what is now being called the “Italian Quarter”.
Pompeo who is the prefect host – being skilled and accomplished in his Front of House role, in what by day is an Italian Deli but by night turns into a fine dining British restaurant greeted us.
The ambience is intimate and relaxed with tables placed at an easy distance from each other. The walls are mostly lined with shelves, stacked with Italian food and wines. We were shown to a table towards the back near the kitchen, where we could hear the chatter of the kitchen and calls of “service please”. My wife was excited to get a big smile from Head Chef, Eamonn Hunt who came 5th in Masterchef 2012.
The menu (changed regularly) is limited to 4 dishes on each of the 3 courses with the bias being very much on quality not quantity. But, it was still almost impossible to choose between the well-balanced and interesting sounding dishes. Similarly, the choice of wine by the glass was limited but we found a very pleasing South African Chein Blanc, which complemented our eventual menu choices to perfection.
The solitary waitress worked calmly and efficiently, being friendly and attentive – topping up our water and wine (from the fridge) as if by magic.
My wife ordered the salmon starter, a chicken with pistachio main, a Stilton third course (with a Port, suggested by Pompeo) and to finish off a decaf. cappuccino. I had duck first course, the second course was pork and then had chocolate cake. The quality was superb - the ingredients being fresh, local and cooked impeccably. Eamonn Hunt was known on Masterchef for his big, bold flavours with impressive presentation and this comes through in his cooking.
Outstanding was the salmon dish which I was told was a taste sensation but at the same time very, very pretty. I really enjoyed the potato stack with my main and the chocolate dessert was rich enough to be extremely moreish without being too heavy – probably the best cake, I have ever eaten! I was pleased that the plates were plain white as if there had been a pattern on them, my wife would have scraped it off in her attempts to make sure nothing was left.
The Bronze Pig is not cheap – but we felt, worth every penny. Although, an unhurried experience, time flew by as we savoured each delicious mouthful. I will say, be careful how much you drink before you turn up, as this is not a fast food joint – starters don’t arrive as you walk in and if you order wine, you could feel quite pickled, even before you start eating.
I notice that my wife has already started putting her loose change in my moneybox and spent Sunday morning poring over our calendar looking for excuses to celebrate! She said several people she works with are keen to get our opinion on the Bronze Pig, Well, it was a simply, perfect experience and we can’t wait for that “special occasion” to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We thank you for such a great title for your review and for the truly complimentary write up. We are humbled and very pleased that you had a relaxing time while enjoying the various dishes on your special day. Thank you and we look forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went here to celebrate our daughters graduation based on the recomendations in Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Pompeo made us feel very welcome and gave great wine recommendations, I really liked the house red and I am not normally a red wine drinker! The service was attentive and friendly without being overpowering. The menu is not huge but there seems to be something for every taste. We were a table of 8 and from the selection of dishes that we ate the favourites seemed to be the duck starter, chicken with pistachio main , and the lemon tart. The lemon tart was so light, it was the star dish for me but my husbands view was the beef was the best he had tasted for a number of years.... And we do eat out quite a bit. In summary a real find and if we are ever back in Lincoln we will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It was great to hear your daughter's plan for her future career. The very best to her from us all at The Bronze Pig. We are pleased we helped to make your visit to Lincoln an enjoyable experience and thank you for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bronze Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Bronze Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing