We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Masterchef experience indeed !!”
Review of The Bronze Pig

The Bronze Pig
Ranked #5 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $57
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Masterchef experience indeed !!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A fine dining experience in a relaxed setting with a great ambience. We had an outstanding meal at this hidden gem of a restaurant. Head chef is Masterchef finalist Eamonn Hunt. We booked a table for four . We were very near the kitchen, where we had a superb view of our meals being prepared by Eamonn and his team The great host was Pompeo who looked after us very well. There was good choice of four starters; mains and desserts. I am a bit of a foodie and can say that this is the best restaurant in Lincoln at the moment. The presentation of the meals was excellent, the flavours were out of this world. We had Prosecco Rose to complement our meal. I would recommend this restaurant and will definitely return myself. My friends were very impressed with my choice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are glad you had a ‘fine dining experience’ at The Bronze Pig and that your friends were impressed with your choice. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    80
    55
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautifully cooked food, lovely service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a fabulous evening! We were lucky enough to pop in for coffee and it was mentioned that there was one table left on the next 4 weeks - so we booked it! Asparagus starter for me, smoked duck for OH - both delicious! The fillet steak was to die for, and OH was in raptures with the dauphinoise that accompanied his pistachio and tarragon chicken All rounded off with chocolate delice for him and tiramisu for me The pace was slow - too slow for the table behind us, who seemed a little unhappy - but we enjoyed it - unhurried dining that allows the opportunity to fully savour the food and the atmosphere. We'll be back, there's no doubt!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicoshayLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to dine at our restaurant and then for writing the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the unhurried atmosphere that allows time to savour the carefully prepared dishes, which is exactly what we set out to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food in Lincoln”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the best meal we have had in Lincoln for many years , exellent service , superb food ! Well done to Eamon and his team . Go and try it , you may have to book well in advance as we did , but it's well worth the wait .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
There isn’t much we can say to such a title…. Very simply: thank you for writing that The Bronze Pig offers ‘The Best food in Lincoln’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

After reading such great reviews and anticipating excellent food from Eamonn Hunt (Master Chef finalist)) I rang the restaurant the night before on the off-chance that they would have a space for my husband and I, and to my amazement they promised to squeeze us in. We have been customers at the deli a few times and so knew the quality of their produce is excellent and how convivial Pompeo, the owner is but the service and food last night were beyond our expectations.

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Pompeo, a wonderful host and you could tell immediately that the atmosphere was relaxed, intimate and very professional. Our table was lovely; sitting amongst the produce of the deli is unusual, but the eclectic decor really works and it creates a slightly off-beat, but cosy environment. The menu itself is small; only four choices to each course, but offers fish, meat and vegetarian options all produce being sourced locally and seasonally. A unique feature of The Bronze Pig is that you can see Eamonn cooking your dinner and plating it up at the pass.

We started with scallops for myself and asparagus for my husband both absolutely delicious, then we both had chicken with a pistachio and tarragon crust and dauphinoise potatoes again amazing. For pudding we shared the stilton which was the most simple of dishes served with walnuts, honey and plum bread, this relied on top quality ingredients to work magnificently. The food was all beautifully presented.

Our evening was quite special and we both left feeling that we have truly discovered a real gem of a restaurant. We hope to return soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Over the past few days we have had a number of reviews, and we feel humbled by the write ups. What we do, we do out of passion for quality food and service. As restaurateurs is virtually impossible to cater for every taste and meet all expectations. Reviews like the one you and many other diners have written or simply communicated to us verbally, tell us that we are doing something right. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boom!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The restaurant is faultless - great atmosphere, great host/waitress - The food was exceptional. Didn't even realize your man in the kitchen was from Masterchef. This is a great place to experience the best food in Lincoln, I really hope everyone has the opportunity to experience what I have.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Many thanks for the short and sweet review. We are glad you enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bronze Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Bronze Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing