We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for what it was”
Review of The Bronze Pig

The Bronze Pig
Ranked #28 of 518 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $64
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 10, 2013

For the prices being charged this restaurant will have to do a lot better. We arrived at 8:30 to a front door with a sign on it saying CLOSED. Not a great start. Once we were seated the maitre'd greeted us with the news that a number of the items on the menu were not available, this from a menu which is already a bit sparse with only four starters and four main courses from which to choose. We were left effectively with a choice of only two from each, with one of the starters being soup and one of the main courses being the expensive beef.We had booked a couple of weeks ahead of time so it was surprising that supplies had been so poorly managed. The maitre'd then made a bit of a hash of our orders, including not taking the order from one of the seven of us. After a couple of repetitions we did get it right. The food we did get was very good and we could not fault it, even if it would not necessarily have been our first choice. Another distraction however was what I'm guessing is the ventilation fan for the kitchen which must be housed above the table at which we were seated. There was an incessant drone which made conversation difficult for the people at one end of the table. All in all, the experience was not a good one, for a meal which cost £310 for the seven of us, albeit with three bottles of wine at £25 each. Lovely to see a new restaurant in Lincoln but, to justify the price and to attract return business, this place will need to up its game. I'm not sure we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Lincolnintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback, we shall respond to the main points:
1. Your table consisted of 7 diners. The cost of the food, including 4 beef fillets with truffle sauce at £23.95 each, averaged £30.59 per head which is in fact a very reasonably priced dining experience.
2. We are glad you considered the quality of the food very good, as that is the essence of a good meal.
3. The sign you refer to is in fact that for the deli side of the business, which was indeed closed.
4. We serve fresh local food and we keep a selected menu which we have been changing weekly. On that particular night many diners chose the same dishes and as a result we had unfortunately run out of one of the starters and run low on one of the main courses. We are sorry that as the last table to order, you did not have the widest of selections.
5. The maître d’ always recaps on a large order to make sure nothing has been missed, and realising that in fact he was short of one order for the group, he asked for the 7th starter to be repeated.
6. We take on board your comment regarding the extractor fan and we have in hand the necessary work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,028 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Modern British 'Madtercheif' food in small Italian Deli setting. Excellent evening out. Three courses all had a twist with unusual ingredient or combination. Just opened, so can they keep up the high sta dard?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HolidayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed the evening. We take on board your comments reference keeping up the standard, which we have every intention of doing. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food was fantastic. There was no problem with any of my dietry requirements and the service was friendly and welcoming. The food is well presented. I had the best steak I have ever eaten. Portions are large and unfortunately I was too full for a third course! We will certainly go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments and are happy that we met your dietary requirements as we try to do our very best not to let such restrictions spoil the dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from this great little restaurant.
They only have a short menu, but it covers a wide range of taste and it changes very regularly.
My belly pork was melt-in-the-mouth tender, which followed some home cured charcuterie.
Presentation was precise and service was attentive and friendly.
Looking forward to returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your cured charcuterie and your pork and we thank you for writing your comments for others to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This restaurant is a collaboration between the owner of the Taste of Italy Deli and a Masterchef finalist from last year.

They have been putting on a "pop up" restaurant in the Deli on an occasional basis for the last few months, but they have now turned it into a four night a week restaurant.

My wife and I visited on Valentines Day and the food was a treat. The chef beautifully combines flavours and textures in a fresh modern style. As has already been said the portions are slightly larger than at some similar restaurants, but not too large. My favourite dish of the night was lobster on a bed of mashed jerusalem artichokes with crispy bacon.

Setting the restaurant in the Deli works well I think, with the neat shelves of quality produce providing and interesting backdrop.

Service was excellent all overseen by the friendly Maitre D, pompeo.

If they keep up this standard they will provide stiff competition for the other "serious" restaurants in Lincoln.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for the accurate explanation of the way The Bronze Pig came to be. We are glad we contributed towards an enjoyable Valentine’s day for you and your wife. We fully intend to keep the standard we have set. Thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bronze Pig also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Bronze Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing