We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break at the Eden House Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden House
Ranked #23 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from a relaxing stay at Eden House B & B in Lincoln. We stayed in the Africa room and this was really nice and comfortable with lovely touches such as cakes waiting for us and fresh milk in a little fridge. Jane and Geoff were great hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and Jane's knowledge of Lincoln was very useful. Breakfast was very good especially the homemade breads and preserves .... yummy!. We will definately go back in the summer and make use of the lovely garden and summer house after a busy day walking around Lincoln.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KazSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Eden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 89 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just arrived home in Bickinghamshire after spending the night at Eden house and we have to say it is definitely one of the best we have stayed in. Couldn't fault it. From Jane welcoming us at the door right through to us leaving today.It has been a lovely experience. We stayed in the Africa room, the bed was very comfortable, the room itself was clean and very spacious, lovely shower room too. I think the home made cake in the room on arrival is a great touch. Breakfast was lovely too, all the food was either homemade or locally produced. All in all a fantastic place, will definitely be back and will also recommend to friends if they want to visit Lincoln. Keep up the great job Jane and Geoff, we believe your doing things perfect. GIll and John Robinson x

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Eden House gave us everything that we needed from a B&B. In particular, we really appreciated the ethically sourced food available, specifically the free range meat and local produce. We were very comfortable and peaceful in the huge bedroom and had plenty of local attractions to entertain ourselves with which were all an easy walk from Eden House, essential for those of us with no car! Situated on the 'up-hill' side of Lincoln, we didn't even have to tackle the dreaded Steep Hill for most of our outings, including the cathedral, castle and the fabulous independent shops, although a bus service is available if you don't fancy the return journey. Couldn't ask for more from an excellent value and incredibly friendly family-run B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time4cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Eden House in early November 2012. The proprietors are really lovely people whose care and attention to detail is much appreciated. We took both rooms for our family weekend, they are clean, spacious, well appointed and have excellent views of the Cathedral from their elevated position. The choice at breakfast is wide ranging, of high quality and plenty to give you a good start to the day. Eden House is situated on a better quality housing estate, a relatively short downhill walk into Lincoln past the Cathedral and Castle. The walk back uphill is not for the weak or infirm, they should use transport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forshaw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

A lovely revue but a couple of comments could be misleading:

The city of Lincoln is built on a hill and Eden House is at the top of the hill with the main tourist attractions including the Cathedral, Castle, museums, galleries, cafes, restaurants, pubs and many independent shops. This historic 'Bailgate' area is a 10 to 15 minute walk from our guest house, entirely on the flat. The railway station, river and shop chains such as M&S are at the bottom of the hill. This hill can be challenging for the elderly but there is a sprinter bus every 15 minutes to the top which is free for pensioners. In addition we offer a complimentary taxi service to and from the station.

Eden House is not part of a housing estate at all. Yarborough Crescent is very easy to find. To the back of our house is a pretty garden which backs onto allotments and to the front of the house is a wide tree lined road with houses which back onto more allotments and playing fields. Eden House has lovely views and is set in its own private plot on a residential road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here when we stopped off to visit Friends in Lincoln.We stayed in the Africa themed room which was lovely,especially as were recently in Cape Town visiting my wifes sister.Jane and Geoff were very welcoming and we had a lovely stay.Very close to Lincoln Cathedral.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocketron49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Warm friendly welcome with lovely home made cake, tea and coffee. Clean spacious and comfortable accommodation in a quiet location with a lovely view of the cathedral. The facilties included a fridge and tea/coffee making equipment and off road parking. Excellent of choice of food including home made bread and jam, organic and locally supplied food products. Generous portions and well cooked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindarayment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent just one night here, but would have liked to stay longer. Warm welcome from Jane & Geoff, lots of recommendations to help enjoy our stay, accommodating with car parking. The room was large and well-equipped, with a small fridge, coffee/tea-making facilities, TV, and WiFi. Did we mention the homemade cakes in the room when we arrived? Breakfast was wonderful, offering many joices and catering to particular wishes. We appreciated the local and homemade items. Everything was spotlessly clean. Good location, 10-minute walk to the cathedral area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardinDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Guest House
Newport Guest House
#6 of 51 in Lincoln
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
5.2 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 70 Yarborough Crescent, Lincoln LN1 3LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: $77 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House is a short walk from the Cathedral,Castle, museums, restaurants, bars and shops. We offer a choice of accommodation including a self-catering holiday apartment with separate kitchen, and two B&B rooms (double, twin/ super-king). All rooms have flat-screen TV with free-view, silent fridges, etc. Free parking and Wifi. Enjoy Cathedral views and tasty breakfasts including home-made bread and preserves,fresh fruit salad, porridge, and a range of options from a full English to Continental, American pancakes or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We source our produce from local organic/free-range farms and serve garden produce when in season.Eden House is an ideal base for exploring Lincoln and the surrounding area. Guests are supplied with maps and other tourist information. A warm welcome is offered to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing