We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food”
Review of Mill Lodge

Mill Lodge
Ranked #140 of 454 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Is associated with Lincoln Premier Inn: http://www.premierinn.com/en/hotel/LINMIL/lincoln?cmp=GLBC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Staff here are always friendly and the food is always good. A few large party's in today but we were not kept waiting for an unacceptable amount of time because of this. Cannot fault them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    121
    57
    53
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awfull... Just awfull”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Garden is over grown in the middle of summer... How is this even acceptable? The entire establishment outside is in need of some serious love! On to the service.... Never. NEVER in my life have I been asked if I need anything else " because the bar is along way and I don't want to have to walk back " food is way way over priced unless you stick to set menus and if they have a private function in forget it! Doubt ill ever return on the poor service over priced food and run down state of what was once a beautiful friendly pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyDoo1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“what a difference a day makes”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were staying at the canwick premier inn next door and dined here twice. First night we found the lady behind the bar unfriendly and the man who showed us to our table also rude. The food was good though. The next night was a totally different experience as we were served by michael behind the bar and alan at the table and both chaps where extremely friendly. Food again was fine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholidayer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I went here on a visit to lincoln and was happy with my meal very nice tasty food. Waiting staff were helpful and nice and were happy to help. Definitely cime back again

Helpful?
Thank sobier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very average food, excellent service”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I haven't eaten at Mill Lodge in some time, and we decided to make a visit one evening. The restaurant was very busy but we found a table and our waiter Jez warmly welcomed us. Jez took our order and was helpful in making menu suggestions, and was able to offer allergy advice. There is a wide range of menu options and clear allergy guidance.

We ordered nachos for starters and were rather disappointed. The nachos were fine but there wasn't enough cheese and the salsa was appalling being more like a red sauce with no hint of a chunky texture or any clear ingredients such as tomatoes or onions.

The chicken and sauce dish as a main course was very average and the mushroom risotto was the worst I have ever had in a restaurant. I am utterly convinced that the rice used in this dish was long grain and not risotto rice as the textures and taste was completely wrong, and the sauce wasn't stirred throughout the dish which was strange for a risotto. It was so bad I didn't finish the dish.

It wa a shame that the food was a disappontment as Jez was lovely and tried so hard. It will be a good while before we go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Lodge also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Branston, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Mill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing