We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and restaurant service were excellent”
Review of The Electric

The Electric
Ranked #59 of 462 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Electric Bar and Restaurant offers dining experience like no other in the city. Situated on the 5th floor with unsurpassed views of Lincoln and the Cathedral, you can experience fine-dining amongst stunning surroundings.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband, his aunt and myself had dinner here on Sunday night and all three of us thoroughly enjoyed it. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the pork ribs fell off the bone. Our starters of Thai prawn broth was also delicious. Staff were exceptional and very friendly and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Our only downside that night was the girl (who I don't want to name because I wouldn't be that cruel) who worked behind the bar serving drinks. Maybe she had had a bad day but her whole manner to us was terrible. We were a bit early for our dinner and decided to have a drink while we waited. My husband asked if they did draught beer. No was her reply. He asked did she have Perroni, No was her reply. He then ordered two bottles of moretti and had to ask for glasses as none was forthcoming. There was no "Sorry Sir but we have xxxxx it was just a straight No. I then asked for a BERRINI cocktail and was given an Apple & Pear BELLINI.
I don't really think she was interested in anything we said and we were glad when the time came for us to go into dinner. My husband's aunt and I got on the lift with his girl on our way out and even then she just ignored us. Would We go back to the restaurant. Yes no problem but we would only go back to the bar if the same girl was off for the night. Somehow you just expect a bit more curtesy from staff at a Hilton hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

441 - 445 of 539 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

All courses were awesome, the staff were fantastic and the atmosphere was great!! It's a no-brainer! Go eat there now!!

Thank Deborah1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I do not normally write reviews but I felt that this meal was poor enough to be worthy of one! A party of 20 of us dined out on a Saturday night for the the three course meal for £25 all of the people who ordered fish had to return them as they where not hot. It took a long time for the accompanying items such as the chips to come out some of which people where forgotten or got fed up of waiting and started their meals. The steaks are not of a good quality regardless of how they where cooked people where struggling to cut through them and I was told by several of the people I was dining with that they where chewy and quite frankly not great. As you can imagine it is rather disappointing that a restaurant such as this are unable to produce decent fish and chips or steak they are hardly a complex dish to produce. When complaints where made we where made to feel as if we where in the wrong and being unreasonable the chips finally came out in their droves to little to late. I had the salmon which was ok but nothing special I make a better salmon dish at home. We had to wait 15 minutes for drinks from the bar and they had the cheek to add a 10% service charge to the drinks bill which is quite frankly ridiculous. All in all a very disappointing meal certainly won't be dining here again had better quality pub grub and at least they serve honest decent wholesome food without trying to be pretentious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gina250805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lau W, General Manager at The Electric, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Gina,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our restaurant on Trip Advisor. Constructive feedback is always appreciated as we continuously look to improve our performance in both food quality and service.

We are looking to improve the way in which we serve our popular Fish and Chip dish, however at this stage we are not best equipped to serve large quantities of fried food. Battered fish for the quantity ordered had to be fried and then kept hot in the oven. With your party arriving slightly later than scheduled and a miscommunication within the kitchen team, this caused for the Fish and Chip dishes to be served at an inadequate temperature. This is unacceptable and embarrassing, however we did ensure each dish was replaced and served to your guests within 8 minutes.

The feedback on the night regarding steaks was positive other than one lady whom ordered her steak well-done and found it too dry. As this steak was cooked to her preference but not to her liking an alternative dish had been offered but she declined and thus the charge for her food had been removed from the final bill.

The Salmon Nicoise dish has been one of the most popular and best reviewed dishes on our Dine With Wine menu and I can only express regret you did not enjoy it as much as our other guests.

The indicated waiting time on drinks is a worry so I took the liberty to check our CCTV system and found the waiting time to be 7 minutes from the moment the order was taken until delivery, I do apologise if you experienced this to be longer. All our bills come with a discretionary (optional) service charge and I am happy to say all tips collected are paid out to our staff.

After personally speaking to several members of your party, including the organiser, the feedback was very positive and any problems that did arise were dealt with as swiftly as possible and compensated with 4 bottles of wine.

It is a shame our guests will only post to a public website when they have a bad or a very good experience, as ratings have a tremendous impact on our business. I am happy to say that 86% of our reviews are rated very good or excellent and those guests have indicated they will return and recommend us.

I hope to see you again in the future and am confident you will have a better experience on your next visit.

Kind regards

Lau Wensink
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

On a recent visit to Lincoln me and my husband made use of the offer at the Electric Restaurant.... the two main-courses for the price of one was to good to pass up.

We clearly where not the only ones with that same thought and as we came out the glass elevator there was a real buzz around the place. The staff where already rushed of their feet in a packed restaurant but dispite us not booking showed us to an available table.

The lunch menu is already reasonably priced and it is not strange to expect a full restaurant when such a generous offer added. Dispite the place being busy and the staff not having much time for chats the service was surprisingly quick and friendly, they even managed to smile.

My husband had the soup and reffered to it as tasty, it must have been as he used the complimentary bread-rolls to clean his plate. I had the goats-cheese salad wich burst with flavour, sharp and zingy with dollops of sweet, creamy goat cheese.

My husband had the steak for main course wich he discribed as cooked well, juicy and tasty, not a man of many words. For myself i ordered the broccoli and stilton pie wich was simply devine and by far the best vegetarian dish I have tasted in a long time.

As we where both pretty full we decided to share the strawberry and cream dessert, wich was light and refreshing with lots of different textures.

For our entire meal and a bottle of house chardonay we spend less than £30 including a discretionary service charge. Any future visits I will ensure to book in advance and reserve a window table!

We will be back, top notch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ann q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We tried lunch at this restaurant on our Wedding Anniversary, in response to their summer offer of two lunches for £8.95.
(NB -this figure is for one course for each person and ignores the 10% service charge added automatically to the bill).

We had a good table on the balcony with interesting and extensive views. The service was good for the time of day.

I chose to pay a £3 supplement for an 8oz rump steak, but should have saved my money. The plate was filling, but the chips were the tastiest part. The meat was hard work and the mushroom and tomatoes lacked taste.

My partner had the salmon which was very good, but the portion was small and she was still hungry. So, fortunately, we had the "Strawberry and Cream" dessert - in fact, nice strawberries, served with delicious panacotta and milk sorbet.

This made up for disappointing mains, but we were rather shocked to be presented with a bill for four people which had to be corrected. In the end we paid £18.50 for two courses for two, without drinks, which seemed reasonable.

Overall, I don't think we will be going there again to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pawraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Electric also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire

Been to The Electric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing