We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding meal”
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Ranked #14 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I ate at the old bakery last night we had the 5 course taster menu it was beautiful, my favourite part of the meal was the pork I've never tasted anything like it . The service was excellent the waitress brought our dishes in a timely manner , she was very pleasent / helpful regarding which wines to drink . It was a delightful evening I would highly recommend a visit to the old bakery . To end the evening the chef gave us 2 home made chocolates which were lovely .
I will return to try out there lunch menu .
Sam and Jon from grantham

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbakery, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sam and Jon,
thank you very much for taking the time to review us, i am pleased you have enjoyed out tasting menu, looking forward to have you back very soon.

Regards
Ivano de Serio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    56
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
16
156
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate here recently and were looking forward to it. The service was ok, bit surly. My husband had the 5 course taster menu which is aptly named because a taster was all it was. He hadn't eaten since breakfast so as to enjoy the meal but the portions were so mean he left unsatisfied and joked about getting some chips on the way home. I had the a la carte menu and it really was nothing special. This place is not nearly as good as it thinks it is!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We attended this Restaurant with great expectations. We were quite a large group and were sat in the conservatory, nice, although a few stained cushions on chairs (not too bad). I would not like to do an injustice to the restaurant but did wonder if the high numbers influenced the disappointing service we received. We paid £28.50 for a 3 course xmas lunch with coffee and mince pie (shop bought!!!). The starter was nice (Turkey and mushrooms), although nothing "special", could have done with being a little warmer! I then had turkey for mains, and was disappointed. I had two slices of turkey with mash on top, a sausage and bacon, covered in gravy. We were then handed out veg (somewhat sporadically and for the number involved very few) the carrots were hard, as were the sprouts. There were no roasties etc and we were not offered any sauces. Again this could have done with being warmer. Pud was Xmas pud which was service with a very basic custard, nice but there was something lacking. We coffee and mince pies and as mentioned above I thought that these would at the very least be made on site, but were clearly shop bought. Sorry this sounds so negative but for the cost of the menu there are many other establishments that cater to this level at a fraction of the cost and would on the face of it expect a little more in the way of "individuality"! Would like to visit again to see if it was the sheer number that detracted from the previously excellent reports! One last thing - the skirting board in the ladies toliet needs cleaning! One thing I always look for in a good restaurant is the standard of the toliet facilities.... it says alot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SwiftNickLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My fiancee and i went for dinner at the Old Bakery and were very impressed. The restaurant is fantastic, the conservatory area is beautiful at night and very romantic. The food especially was outstanding. It was of a very high quality and there was a good option. The staff were also very good, very professional.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Four of us went for a birthday celebration . We were greeted by a very pleasant waitress and shown to a table in the small room at the front of the restaurant.The atmosphere was harsh due to the overhead spot lights.....candles or subtle lighting would have made such a difference.The only hospitality came from the two waitresses. The owner / chef and other chefs passed our table but made no eye contact or attempt to speak. As we finished our meal a couple of staff left.........still no communication.A lady then appeared with a mop and bucket and vanished into the room at the back with the waitresses.We had already settled our bill so we saw ourselves out and left the remaining table of two to their fate. The food was quite good but unmemorable. We might have enjoyed it more in a more hospitable setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were shown to our table in the conservatory of this lovely building and eagerly anticipated a wonderful meal. Despite one or two wobbles, we were not disappointed. It was only when we selected our 3rd wine that we actually found one that was in stock - not great considering the fact that the wine list was not extensive. Similarly, the menu was somewhat limited offering only a few choices for each course. This could present difficulties for those with special dietary needs although I was assured that the chef would be able to accommodate particular requests I am not sure how feasible this would be during a busy service. The food though was quite delicious - a clear case of limiting the menu options and delivering real quality fine dining.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Touringholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I attended a group (Sunday) lunch here. Fantastic ambience, very friendly, polite and helpful staff, and the food was very good indeed (good value too). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it (unlike the appalling Saffron Indian restaurant - see separate review). Very good indeed

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Property: The Old Bakery
Address: 26-28 Burton Road, Lincoln LN1 3LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bakery 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery rooms which belong to the sister company of The Old Bakery Restaurant have been awarded 4 star AA and 4 star Silver Award Quality in Tourism assessment ratings. The Old Bakery was listed in the September 2007 edition of The Sunday Times Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Finest Places to stay in England. We also had a full page feature during March 2009 in The Independent as one of the finest restaurant establishments achieving 5 stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing