We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional rather than enjoyable”

Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Functional rather than enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Longdales house is nice; clean but a little bit souless. The rooms are very small, but the tiles in the hallway make up for it. The lounge is also nice with a big TV.

Breakfast was a let down. The fruit had been hanging around for days or maybe weeks and wasn't edible. The only options were sugar loaded cereal and a variety of toasts. So not strictly continental as no meats or cheese, croissants etc. It was quite poor.

The campus it's set on has it's interesting bits but on the whole it's definitely more functional than scenic. I would recommend looking for somewhere else first; but if everywhere else is full, then it's an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want your room to be anything more than a place to sleep, then opt for a larger room. More e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roblie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
31
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay made even better with our two nights being in prize from Bishop Grossteste University!
Lovely room, room 9.
Smashing breakfast continental style in lovely themed tearoom.
Great for staying and exploring Bailgate area and walking down Steep Hill
Thank you for our lovely stay

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chesvegas41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

we stayed here to attend a local party at the local BG university
upon arriving ample close parking is available
check in was simple and easy at the universities sports centre 30 metres away
the room was spotless and functional
tea and coffee facilities
comfy bed
nice and quiet location
breakfast was at the onsite tearooms again very quiet but everything you would want in a continental style breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for the Lincoln Christmas market. It is a perfect position as we could leave the car on site and walk into Lincoln- took about 10 - 15 minutes. This was a flat walk - to the top of the hill. The bed and bedding was of good quality - we booked a compact double - which it was - only enough room to get round the bed - but there was a large cupboard for our things and a ensuite. We knew what we were getting when we booked and were expecting it. However the quality of the fittings etc compensated for this and we were just using it a place to sleep and shower. If you wanted to spend more time in your room, think about booking a larger room that will cost you more. Room and hotel was warm - great after a day in the cold.

The hotel is on the site of one of the universities - you have to pick up your key from the sports hall on site - 200m away. The breakfast is continental at a cafe on site - again very good quality - and open for exclusive use of hotel guests until 10am. This was again lovely and staff very helpful.

There is a lounge with a small kitchen - with microwave and fridge.

I have given this review all 5's a because for £85 per night (and free parking and easy access) in the middle of the Christmas market, it was great value for money!

Room Tip: The compact doubles are very small - book a larger room if you need more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunWineandBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My recent stay at Longdales House bed and breakfast in Lincoln was excellent the facilities on site and the complimentary membership of the gym was very much appreciated. Staying on business and attending a conference on the Bishop Grosseteste was so easy as the B&B is perfectly situated for on the edge of the conference. Perfect!

Room Tip: Double room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I enjoyed a single night stay at Longdales House, and was perfectly happy with the experience.

My room was spotless, couldn't fault it, and free wifi, tea and coffee was provided.

What was unsual was that check-in was at the sports centre, and the continental breakfast was served at a coffee shop elsewhere on campus.

Apart from that though, it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvWDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here one night on the 6th to 7th July 2012.

The hotel itself is on the campus of Bishop Grossetese University College and is a very short walk away from the Bailgate area (the Cathedral/Castle) of Lincoln. The rooms are small but modern and immaculate, the internet is complimentary and a lovely breakfast is included. It wasn't until checking out I realised there was also use of a lounge area which also was very nice.

My one issue, if you can call it an issue, was finding it. But after that, I had no problems. But even that was a minor issue in the grand scheme of things. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: I paid £5 extra for a slightly larger room. I would recommend this as even this room was on the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anickerson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.7 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#26 of 52 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#7 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#18 of 52 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Loudor
The Loudor
#2 of 3 in North Hykeham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bail House & Mews
Bail House & Mews
#15 of 52 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longdales House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longdales House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Longdales Road | edge of Bishop Grosseteste University College, Lincoln LN1 3DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Longdales House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longdales House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing