We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plain Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peacock Inn

The Peacock Inn
Ranked #92 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Plain Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is my local whilst in Lincoln. It's a Greene King pub, which in my opinion puts it at a disadvantage when it comes to choice of beers: Greene King brews the plainest IPA I've ever come across. They did have Yorkshire Blonde on the pump today, which was fine.

Roast beef Sunday lunch with beer came to £11 each which is ok value. The food was cooked competently, but not interestingly. Veggies were all plain boiled, neither overdone nor underdone, but nothing further added: not seasoned or buttered or roasted. Roast potatoes were perfectly edible, but neither crisp on the outside nor fluffy on the inside. The large Yorkshire pudding with gravy was decent. Overall, this was the standard of a good quality school dinner, but in 2013 it's pretty old skool to find it in a pub.

The service was courteous and the food was served promptly.

There's nothing offensive to report but in future I'll pass this place by and stretch my legs the short extra distance to Bailgate.



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 6R4H4M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    54
    14
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Generous portions, relaxed atmosphere, local clientele”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

On our last night in Lincoln we wanted to visit a pub and our B&B host recommended The Peacock. We were very pleased we took the advice. The food was very good and the portions were huge. Just what you might want after a day walking up and down Steep Hill. The service was friendly: the waitress was particularly self-effacing when she told us that Lincoln had been voted one of the 10 most boring cites in the UK (not so! it's marvelous!) The decor was a little brighter than other pubs and noise levels were very comfortable. A very pleasant experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Pub Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Saturday night and restaurant packed, but tables are not too close together. Adequate staff serving on. Food typically Englsh pub, good quality ingredients, well cooked & presented. First time we've eaten here - we'd go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illbeburgered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pub, excellent food, welcoming and warm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a great meal and a few beers with a colleague here the other night, it was as good as it's always been, very friendly, beer was excellent, Steak and Ale pis it the best. Wish it was my local.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherbertdipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Went on recommendation for Sunday lunch. All five of us enjoyed the food which was fresh and well cooked. They are open midday to 9.00 p.m. everyday. Service was excellent from very friendly staff. Small area of parking but plenty in the street very near. Pleasant dining area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bugling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Inn also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing