We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't book a function here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't book a function here!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Attended a function here & although the building is lovely, service is not. Bad communication between staff, event organiser can't organise a smooth event. Food was good. Disco could have been much better. We were rushed out at end of night and after being told that a bar would still be open, there was nothing, but lots of customers wanting to spend money on drinks & instead going to the nearest pub!! We could have had more drinks on room service if we were all guests in hotel, but how could we be a guest in the hotel if the events organiser never blocked off any rooms that we requested??? A stressful event organised by my family that didn't need to be:(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jamandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review regarding your attendance at a recent function.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you were caused by the lack of availability of drinks during the end of the evening, non resident guest should be served until 1am in our main bar unless we have reason not to do so which is at the discretion of the Bars Manager and Night Manager on duty.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed the food and the hotel and we will feedback your comments to the DJ that was hired on the night. We did generally have some very positive comments from guests leaving the hotel from the party during the evening which was good to hear.

In terms of the rooms being available, we had set up a preferred rate for guests booking rooms associated to this party, however, to benefit from this rate the rooms needed to be booked before the event and as no rooms were allocated for this event, it was on a first come first serve basis, therefore we will continue to sell rooms to other guest as normal until the rooms were full. We did not have any rooms available at the rate agreed for the party on the night as we had an occupancy of 100% on Saturday night.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies for any confusion and misunderstanding involving the room rates for this event and for any inconvenience caused to you by the Bar not being available to your party after 1am.

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    514
    153
    68
    49
See reviews for
237
800
45
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent hotel, the room was very crisp and clean and the bed was massive and very comfortable. We were given warm cookies on arrival and in the room there were biscuits and Viennese whirls. The staff were extremely helpful and discreet and the hotel is in a brilliant location in the centre of town. It is just on the banks of the Brayford Quay next to the cinema and a long line of restaurants. It is less than five minutes walk from the centre of town and you can see the cathedral from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

when we arrived our day was full of dissapointment, courtesy of flybe and avis.
our welcome to the hotel was appreciated.
all the staff,reception,bar,resturant were very helpfull and friendly during our 3 night stay.
a credit to the hilton name.
we eat and enjoyed drinks during our family visit. and really enjoyed our stay.
hope to visit again very soon.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the usual hilton high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is a really great service provided for the guest. All staffs are friendly and helpful. I would love to come back and surely stay with you again Double Tree Hotel Lincoln By Hilton. The overall is really good, I have just only a point that the light in the room. It should be somehow brighter because it's kinda a bit dark. More natural sunshine should come in the room. That is the only thing I could suggest. Last but not least, the breakfast is really nice and also hot dishes were served with a good view of the Lincoln Cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chartree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent location, quiet. Efficient friendly staff. Comfortable bed and pillows. Very good hairdryer, iron etc. Home away from home. And fab cookie at check in. Couldnt get bath water very hot - but this was a restful handy place to relax and sleep during a busy week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

On Brayford Wharf, short walk to Steep Hill and all attractions; terrific restuarant and incredible fifth floor upscale bar overlooking the Wharf. The staff is among the best in the business...I've stayed here 15+ times...always top tier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I wouldn't normally review hotels that I have spent only one night at as the result of a work trip however this hotel was amazing. The check-in was seamless and the warm chocolate and walnut cookie just topped it off. The rooms were clean, well equipped and modern. Room service was quick and good quality and the electric bar which over looks lincoln and is the most bueatiful setting. I have never seen anything quiet like it. Brilliant stay for business and pleasure. Perfect location for shopping too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Address: Doubletree By Hilton Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing