We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty darn good!”

The Horse and Groom Pub
Ranked #39 of 448 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Simple, honest and welcoming. Here at the Horse & Groom we pride ourselves on our great selection of real ales, home cooked food and welcoming staff. Located at the end of the Brayford Wharf with a spacious car park and large garden, it's everything we believe a real pub should be.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a relatives birthday even though there was a few hiccups with tables the food definitely made up for it. I ordered the rump steak with peppercorn sauce and asked to be cooked medium even though it was a bit rare for my liking it was delicious. Dessert was a lemon tart which was absolutely divine. The food isn't the cheapest but the standard you get is well worth it. I will definitely be visiting again and would recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    188
    60
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Pub should be”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Service, food, choice of drinks is all fantastic, can't really fault the place. Me and the wife have eaten here on a quite a few occasions and recommend it to lots of friends. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
423 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We ate here with little expectation and boy were we pleasantly surprised! We had chicken pie, chicken and pasta, and a vegetarian dish with goats cheese that ALL were out of this world! The desserts were fantastic as well. We'll probably go back there tonight! The servic was excellent also.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacksheep101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tea with friends”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went to the Horse and Groom in Lincoln for tea with friends. the food was very good I had the pulled pork with BBQ sauce, chips and onion rings and my hubby had chicken tomato linguini. The only thing I wasnt impressed with was the range of beers, not much to choose from.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent English Pub Grub”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch on Monday with family.. Burger Monday and had the surf and turf burger... Epic !!! Also recommend the chicken and ham pie...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fisher_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse and Groom Pub also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Horse and Groom Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing