We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Meal”

The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #45 of 455 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Have just visted the Carpenters arms with a group of 16 family member for a Christmas Meal.
From the minute we arrived until the minute we left the staff could not have done anymore to be more helpful. Have never had a bad meal here and for all 16 people to have enjoyed it as much as they did, its a credit to the Staff. Thank you and see you all again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank niceguy082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Employee at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments. The staff are all committed to ensuring that our guests enjoy their dining experience with us and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable evening. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for The Carpenters Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 192 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Visiting brother in the area to do present swap! Needed somewhere local to eat and came across this lovely traditional eatery, we had heard they kept excellent real ales. Menu was varied and food was freshly cooked and plentiful. Staff friendly and attentive. What more could we ask for? Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Employee at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you Tracy for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us during your recent stay in the area and hope that we might welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A return visit to The Carpenters Arms found the food and staff to still be of the highest standard. A meal full of fabulous flavours. Before leaving we booked for another visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Employee at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post both your reviews. We are very pleased that you've enjoyed your visits to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

After recommendations I actually thought I was in the wrong restaurant! Very disappointing all round. Food was very poor, tough re heated Yorkshire puddings with poor quality sausages on the side is toad in the hole??? All food piled on a plate, over priced, over rated, poor service and will therefore not be returning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Employee at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We are sorry to learn that you didn't enjoy your recent visit to us. The quality of our food, it's presentation and our customer service is of utmost important to us all and we apologise if you feel we did not meet our usual high standards on this occasion.

Our toad in the hole features regularly on our specials board and consists of a very large homemade Yorkshire Pudding embedded with 3 locally sourced Lincolnshire sausages and served with thick onion gravy. It is accompanied by a selection of 7 vegetables and roast and mashed potatoes. The dish is very popular and is consistently one of our bestsellers.

We strive to ensure all our customers are satisfied during their visit and we actively encourage feedback. If a diner is not happy with their meal or any aspect of their visit to us, we will do our utmost at the time to rectify any problem and ensure they leave us happy.

We welcome all reviews for The Carpenters Arms and we thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

As a regular diner I was expecting a good meal I ordered the haddock dinner. I expected a flacky fresh haddock what I got was a deep fried poor substitute that was originally frozen fish of I not sure what it was. I could had a better quality dinner at home totally appalled at what I was served

Joo

Lincoln

1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, employee at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your meal on your recent visit to us. As a regular diner at The Carpenters Arms, you will know how important quality and presentation are to us all and we apologise that you felt we did not meet our usual high standards on this occasion.

We want all our diners to be happy when they leave our establishment and if we are made aware of any problem during a visit, we will do our utmost to rectify it to ensure customer satisfaction.

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carpenters Arms also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing