We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food let down by poor decor and lay out”

Prince of Wales Inn
Ranked #84 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good food let down by poor decor and lay out”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were a table of 4 visiting the Prince of Wales on Sunday late afternoon having stumbled upon in on an impromptu visit to Lincoln.

From the outside the PoW looks like a nice enough pub. I have to say the inside doesn't really live up to that. The place is crying out for a good spruce. It is clean and tidy, but it really has tired decor and the TV needs to be moved to a less looming large whilst you eat position. All has a feeling of a bit too rough around the edges for my liking, and based on the alternatives available along the street, but in contrast the staff were very friendly and approachable.

We ordered 2 steak and ale pie meals, 1 fish and ships and 1 of the specials - fish curry with basmati and naan. All were really and plates were left clean. I had the fish curry and it was delicious - fish, sweet potato, spinach and a good helping of chilli.

4 of us eating with a drink of wine (not great but not bad at all) or beer each came to just under £49. Based on the food, I wouldn't complain at all and would happily call by for a late lunch again. Based only on the look of the place I have to say I wouldn't visit again.

For me, it's a nice place that could be so much better with just a bit more TLC.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne_DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spent a few weeks in Lincoln and was impressed by the friendly service and the quality of the food served at the Prince of Wales Inn. The food was prepared and cooked impeccably. The hand cut chips, the light and tasty batter on the fish, the sauce accompanying the herb and lemon pork, were all sublime. Well priced food served in a pub with a nice atmosphere. Not to be missed on your stay in Lincoln.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Pleasant old Inn serving tasty pub food.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a meal at the Prince of Wales during our recent visit the Lincoln.

The pub had great atmosphere, which was made even better by the number of students visiting with their families after attending their graduation ceremony in Lincoln Cathedral. Students and pubs don't always make the best mix, but they were well behaved and we were able to enjoy our evening to the full.

The food was good - tasty and plentiful and the service was excellent. The staff are friendly and obliging.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrst148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly pub, home cooked meals!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were unsure where to eat, it was a busy evening in Lincoln, then we chanced upon this tiny pub just off the main thorough-fare. The food was priced sensibly, looked and tasted good and was indeed home cooked! Many thanks to the happy, friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best pub food in town”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Often drink here and watch the world go by but never eaten until last night when we had the Thursday night special of fish & chips, 2 for £10. It was fabulous! Lovely lightly battered fresh haddock, homemade chips with skins left on, minted mushy peas and tartare sauce, great value, beautifully cooked & presented.
Will definately be eating here again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaysLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince of Wales Inn also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Prince of Wales Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing