We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Sunday lunch”

Prince of Wales Inn
Ranked #84 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

excellent Sunday lunch, Steak & Black sheep ale pie, full of meat, no fat , no gristle. Makes Browns pie shop look sad by comparison. Saw a roast lunch going out to someone, very large portions. This pub has never disappointed for meals and has a nice atmosphere to boot. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff great location!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, really nice food and management that go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Our most favourite "bailgate" pub. A shame they don't offer bed and breakfast!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adelesmith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What can I say, other than this pub deserves a real pat on the back for the quality of food, all dishes were delicious and tasted homemade. We will definately visit this place again and would recommend to any visitor to beautiful Lincoln.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food in a pub setting.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

To keep this one short! This pub is currently serving food of a very good 'pub grub' standard. Avoiding any pre-tenses, the POW is sending out good quality fayre for a good price. As a table of 4, we had three of the house burgers and a vegetarian option, what is was exactly slips my mind. The food came out quickly, but not 'too quickly', was a decent portion size, all seemingly home-made and at MacDonalds prices, (there or there abouts.) If you are looking for a decent feed, albeit in a pub setting, I would strongly advise you to avoid the Lion and Snake and pop next door to 'The Prince.' Serving food during the afternoons, evenings and weekends, (inc sunday roast,) the proprieter for the last several years, Gordon, seems to have things on-point.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skiskatesurf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely pub”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staying in Lincoln on business. Fancy a pint and some chips. Read a few reviews - try this place. Gale force wind blowing, its close to hotel...Guy behind bar - owner? - is very pleasant, its quiz night tonight but I'll be done before the mob arrives. Timothy Taylor Landlord - an excellent pint. in perfect condition, I'm a CAMRA member so of course I carry my own thermometer, DNA tester to analyse the hops and a stimpmeter (previous review - "3 boring beers" - what???)

Steak Pie is unexpectedly superb. Loads of good quality meat, tasty gravy, puff pastry, chips are skin-on wedges really, and even the carrots and broccoli aren't cooked to death as in most pubs.Nice atmosphere, got busier as quiz time, charming young barmaid (young enough to be my daughter... etc. Once upon a time... sighs, buys another pint of Landlord.....)

Loved it. Wish I lived less than 173 miles from Lincoln which is by the way one of the 5 finest places in england. And - as a father - you don't change your baby's nappy in the bar and then whinge when people get a little sniffy about it (previous comment..) I don't think the pub positions itself as a "family" pub so use a park bench like we did if we didn't like the look of the loos...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gpetersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince of Wales Inn also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Prince of Wales Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing