We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral View Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathedral View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Cathedral View for two nights, we had a lovely welcome and were able to check in early as well as park up so that we could walk into Lincoln and enjoy the shops. Our room was No3 which had a nice view out the front, don't be put off that the bathroom is not in the room as it has its own luxury private bathroom literally 5 seconds away.
The Guest house is in a great location at the boutique end of town and there are some gorgeous places to eat nearby (Café Zoot & Gino's both excellent). Lincoln itself has some great shops and you must walk around the nearby Cathedral at night when its all lit up as it takes your breath away.
Breakfast was scrummy and the eating area very welcoming indeed!
My only tip is get your car straight and drive in real slow, then take your time parking as its a bit tight but no major problem and with everything in walking distance well worth the effort!
Thankyou Paul and Tracy - we had a lovely time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    58
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
283
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bembridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the room at the top of the house. This was huge but getting to it meant navigating a twisty staircase and avioding low beams. Fortunately we are both short so it wasn't a problem for us. But if you are taller than 5' 6" or not very agile or bulky beware! We had two TV's, one at each end of the room with a comfortable settee in front of one of them. The bathroom was a bit of a disappointment as there was only a loose A4 size mirror, a low wattage bulb for illumination and no shaver socket. Apart from this the room was very clean and comfortable, although a dining type chair at the bed of the room end would be an asset. The breakfast was very good with all the usual choices available. Overall we had a very good time staying here and if the points raised are attended to, as I'm sure they will, would be raised to excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santapopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend with my girlfriend in one of there mid priced rooms. I found the owners pleasant, helpful and friendly. The room was nicely decorated and very clean with plenty of storage space which was useful as we had a lot of luggage. The bed was very comfortable although perhaps a little bit narrow, but as I slept well I'm certainly not complaining. Breakfast was good though if I was too nitpick a vegetarian cooked breakfast option would have been great but I recogise thats still quite rare. This atmospheric period property is excellently placed for exploring Lincoln, though of course being near the Cathedral you can hear the chimes but this didnt really disturb us as we where at the back of the property. Our only real issue was with the shower room; it was cleand well presented but the shower door didnt close properly so the floor got a bit wet at times and on our second morning the water pressure dropped to a dribble for about 20 minutes which was a bit inconvenient. I would certainly stay there again though.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was a smaller room (and thus a lower price) and also less noise from the Cathedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cathedral View for two nights at the beginning of this month and found it clean, cosy and ideally placed for a City visit.

Our reception was good, although it took me time to find my way in, and, once inside the door, I had to take a chance that the lady sitting watching the television in the lounge was waiting for me and not just a visitor. However, she was very friendly and obliging, although there was no mention of signing in or sight of a visitors' book. (I did notice one on our second morning, but it was on a shelf in the dining/sitting room).

Our room (number 4) was very comfortable and charming, with an en-suite shower and toilet, sloping floors, exposed brickwork and a view of (the tower of) the Cathedral.

On going down for breakfast we were surprised that no menu was offered but, from listening to others, we understood that we could have the 'full English' if we wanted it. However we opted for plain boiled eggs, which duly came with one slice of toast...... More toast was on offer if one asked for it, but I felt it was a little bit strange.

Overhearing another conversation at breakfast time on our second morning, I also gathered that there were other delights that we could have had (haddock was mentioned), but not having a menu and not asking the waitress to go through everything on offer would appear to have been our downfall.

Don't be put off by our mistakes though. I would recommend Cathedral View if you want to be in close proximity to all the main visitor sites in Lincoln. It has the great benefit of off-road parking, which is like gold dust in the City.

Room Tip: Number 4 fronts on to road, but has a good view of the top of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrst148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wife and I stayed for 2 nights. Lovely old building in an ideal location in the old part of the city.
Room lovely, clean and comfortable with plenty character, ours (1) had a huge old open stone fireplace along one wall, looked really nice and gave the room a proper old world feel. Car parking available which was a bonus, although a bit tight.
Very good full english breakfast, there are alteratives as well as cereals, juice, yogurt, fruit.
Paul and Christina very good hosts, good service and good craic but Paul would never make a plumber (private joke)
Plenty of nice bars and restaurants nearby, can get busy so it might be a good idea to book.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anth-and-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved this cosy nook, I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

Breakfast was great, cleanliness superb and there were genuine smiles.

I would only say the hot water dips to tepid at peak times and the shower door didn't close. The towels were heavy if frayed ...aside from this it's beautifully and excellently located.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthalNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We chose this B&B from the rave reviews and it definately lived up to our expectations. Paul is a great host and we loved the feel of this place. We stayed in room 7 and we loved the mix of an old building with modern decor. The breakfast room had beautiful table settings and great food. Very classy place and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View Guest House

Property: Cathedral View Guest House
Address: 6 Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Guest House is a 12th-century grade 2 listed building in the heart of the Bailgate in the Cathedral Quarter, recently renovated to the highest standard just a stone's throw from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing