We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathedral View Guest House
Ranked #4 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have just returned from a weekends stay at the Cathedral View Guest House whilst visiting Lincolns Christmas Market.
It was our first stay and definitely won't be the last. The location is excellent if you want to be near the Cathedral/Castle. The view of the Cathedral from room 5 is a bonus. Room 5 sleeps up to 4 people, but is also suitable for 2 people, with a king size bed in one room and a lounge in the next room with a sofa/sofa bed, with both rooms having a TV. There is parking to the rear of the property which is a big help.
Paul, who runs the guest house is always willing to help in any way he can. The rooms are all decorated luxuriously. There is plenty to choose from for breakfast - cereals, grapefruit, toast (as much as you want), a huge cooked breakfast with the nicest sausages ever!
In the locality there are plenty of restaurants to eat out in if needed.

Room Tip: Room 5 is great if you have children or just want extra space as there is one room with a king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    63
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
310
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

A great location in the centre of the old city within sound of the cathedral bells, very well appointed and a wonderful breakfast, parking is a problem in the city so having it included in the courtyard is a real bonus. Finding a place to eat out isn't a issue as there are plenty of places and many fine pubs to sample a beer whilst watching the world go by. Hopefully we shall return soon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pandahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Whilst inaccurately named, as I not sure that you do actually have a view of the cathedral from the property, it is situated right in the heart of the cathedral quarter, so is very handy for all the main places of interest. Lots of restaurants and pubs nearby too.
The newish owners of the property have managed to combine the historic core of the building with modern, quality decor, providing as comfortable and interesting place to stay.
Whilst there car parking to the rear of the building it is accessed through a very narrow arch that would make ingress of anything much larger than a mid-sized car very challenging.
The breakfast menu is expensive but the quality somewhat disappointing, with the coffee being too weak, toast and butter strictly limited and the traditional "english" overcooked; so if a good breakfast is important, you may be disappointed.
Overall though a goodish place to stay in an excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDDINGTON35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I were very happy to stay here on our annual visit to Lincoln to visit family and friends, we stayed for two nights in room 4 which was spotlessly clean,well decorated with a lovely fireplace and impressive en-suite with all the facilities you would expect.Paul could not have been more helpful in all communications and everything was run very smoothly,great breakfast too...we will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Cathedral View for 2 nights. There was a very friendly welcome, a comfortable and well appointed room (room 7 at the top of the house) with everything you'd need waiting for us; exposed beams, a massive, comfy bed and a spotless en-suite. Paul couldn't have been friendlier and was full of good information on things to do and see and where (and where not) to go in Lincoln.

My only criticisms (and they're tiny ones) is that (IMHO) there is no place for pre-packed plastic butter portions in a place as classy as this and that the Tea/Coffee/Milk/Sugar etc. in the room should be a little more ample in quantity. No problem at all when I went to get some more, I was given plenty but...

If you've already booked to stay Cathedral View you've made an excellent choice, if you haven't ...do so! Enjoy your stay - we did! :-)

Room Tip: Room 7 is a spacious & comfortable attic room bit it probably isn't suitable for anyone who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed overnight on a Saturday for a friends wedding reception, which was literally across the road!
The owner let us arrive early and was on hand in the small car park to help with luggage, checked us in swiftly, showed us around and left us to it (perfect).
Our room (5) was huge and very well presented, with two rooms so it can be used for a family, it also has a view of the Cathedral.
We went for a walk Saturday afternoon, did a bit of shopping, late lunch etc. I've never been to Lincoln before, the area is lovely and i would definitely come back.
Breakfast is early on the Sunday up to 9:30am but again nothing was too much trouble and it was yummy, just what i needed with a slight hangover. The bells from the Cathedral do chime so be warned if you stay on a Saturday night/Sunday morning you will be woken but in a nice way. It was a bonus we were there on remembrance Sunday as i go to watch the whole parade from my bedroom window.

Room Tip: Room number 5 has a view of the Cathedral and a huge lounge area if you have children with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kel1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in order to attend a friend's wedding at Charlotte House. The location was perfect for us and would be for anyone wanting to explore the Bail area of the city. The off-street parking is a bonus.

The room was comfortable with drink making facilities and quiet considering the location. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to visit Lincoln.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riceburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,721 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
868 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View Guest House

Property: Cathedral View Guest House
Address: 6 Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Guest House is a 12th-century grade 2 listed building in the heart of the Bailgate in the Cathedral Quarter, recently renovated to the highest standard just a stone's throw from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing