We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the reviews make out”

Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 454 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WINNERS OF UK'S NO1 Fish and chip restaurant 2015,Holders of the National Federation of Fish Friers Quality Award with a food hygiene rating of 5. We serve only sustainably sourced fish and are MSC Certified for our haddock. Our potatoes are Lincolnshire grown and our chips are prepared fresh every day on the premises.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as the reviews make out”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here expecting it to be a treat, we read the reviews on trip advisor and thought we would not be let down but to be honest it was very very average, it was ok but I wouldn't go out my way again to go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryanlovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    50
    36
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had been told about this place by several people but had never tried it out myself. Wow! It puts most fish and chip shops to shame. I won't be going elsewhere in future. Go on give it a go. Five star fish and chips.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kath b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fisn n chips!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tried many different fish and chips in Lincoln and area over the years, but this "plaice" (sorry!) is the BEST by far! We went in the restaurant and had the "special" haddock, chips, peas, bread and butter and a drink at a very reasonable price. It was absolutely delicious!. ~Batter very light and crispy, chips are perfect (it has won an award!) and neither are greasy and soggy like some fish and chips. the restaurant is very smart and lovely comfy chairs. it looks very "upmarket" for a fish and chip restaurant and spotlessly clean. ~Service excellent. they even do a loyalty card. What I also liked was the fact that you don't get the pungent smell of fish and chips frying whilst you eat which can often put me off especially if the fat has been used a few times - that smell can be nausaeting but at this restaruant you don't get any of that at all. This restaurant is Soooo good it is well worth a drive! I gurantee you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redheadLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very good, but not the best I've tasted”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having read about Burton Road Chippy a lot over the past few months, I was really keen to give it try. I love fish and chips, but only when they are done well.
The restaurant is lovely. Modern, well laid out, bright and very clean. The waitresses are excellent, friendly and helpful and the service was really quick.
We order two haddock specials. Haddock, chips, peas, bread/butter and a drink - £17 for 2 people. Considering the price of fresh fish, we thought this was very reasonable.
Our drinks arrived quickly and the food arrived soon after that.
The chips are great and deserve their award. Hand cut and well cooked. The peas were lovely, green and fresh and served in separate pot - I like that idea.
The fish was a little disappointing. The batter is thin and crispy, but the fish was not as firm or as white as I had expected, it tasted good, but not excellent. I was really disappointed to find bones in the fish, I really expected the fish to be filleted well.
One the whole though, this is a nice restaurant, with great staff and we would certainly visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Deserve their best chips title”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Usually chip shop chips makes me quite unwell, but Burton Road's chips do not because they are so fresh, ungreasy, and most of all, tasty. When we have fish and chips, we always come here and it's always busy, but despite this, there's never a long wait. I've only had fish here, but that's because you can taste the freshness, and again, not greasy. The place is really clean and they clearly care a lot about the business, which is wonderful. The best chip shop I know hands down.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing