We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
84
66
17
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
66
17
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conservatory overlooking the garden hotel garden friendly hotel lovely dog quiet road two seater small hotel room was a bit small enjoy your stay ten minute walk lovely person fresh fruit visit lincoln city centre the ground floor friendly welcome four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 178 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018

very nice hotel on a quiet road. Room was clean with contemporary decor and very comfortable all round .The en-suite was excellent with a large shower that was wonderful. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice freshly prepared using local good quality produce.Mandy is a splendid host. Hillcrest is a 10 min walk to the old city area but far enough away to be quiet.

Room Tip: we had a superior room which gave us more space.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Booked here as attending a wedding in the city centre.
Communication with the owner was fantastic and really went out of her way to make our stay as nice as possible.
Lovely building set on the hill overlooking the greenery of the nearby albarium.
Nice bar and restaurant area and also a very beautiful garden to chill out in on a hot day in the sunshine.
Our room gave an absolutely beautiful view with the windows opening fully so we could really enjoy it on a hot summers day.
Our room was spotless and really well planned out.
Great space and plenty of room and amenities.
Lovely four poster bed.
Then there was the bathroom - WOW!
A double shower and bathrom faciities that were of the higest order and somthing id expect to see in a hote l where i would pay maybe triple the price.
Incredible, and made the preperations of getting ready and dressed for our function all the more stress free and enjoyable, a real treat.
Breakfast was included but unfortuatley we didntget up in time as had maybe one too many at the wedding the night before....
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, its also only a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre.
And the owner was just a genuine and lovely person who was a pleasure to talk to.
Thank you so much for making our stay so lovely!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10. Amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We attended a classic car event at the show ground and needed a hotel with a car park and that would allow our Labrador to stay. Location is within minutes of pubs and restaurants and has a lovely aspect overlooking a spectacular park. The hosts were extremely helpful and welcoming allowing us to store our cool bag freezer packs in their freezer and on the second evening even moving one of their own cars out so we could park securely.

We had Room 1 next to the front door so exercising the dog was easy. Room was just decorated, extremely clean and bang up to date. It's more of a guest house than a hotel as it didn't do evening meals, but had a bar and seating area. Breakfast was very tasty with locally sourced sausages and bacon with plenty of variety.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Lovey traditional guest house, friendly hosts and a good location. Room and en-suite very clean and comfortable. View from the garden facing window was nice and there is a lovey park beyond the garden.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank snowdons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flaxman, Owner at Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

Many thanks for your kind review we hope to welcome you back soon.

Hillcrest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely lovely, literally could not fault anything in this hotel at all. All the staff are lovely (family run I believe), rooms are beautiful, modern and very clean, breakfast is delicious (egg and bacon muffin and a full English omelette, plus cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, a choice of juices and fresh tea, coffee and toast) ! Truly scrumptious (see photos). We stayed in room 5 and it has a beautiful view, all the necessities with extra additions. The bathroom is stocked with a gorgeous brand of soap, shampoo and body wash (not the cheap little bottles of stuff but lovely fragrance products). A lot of care has been taken to make this place stunning and I can say 100% that it's been achieved!

Nothing is too much for the staff, they are pleasant, welcoming and have fantastic memories (considering we were here last year).

I cannot sing this hotels praise enough, I really can't, it is definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!

It is rated as a 2 star hotel but in my opinion is definitely higher!!! Prices are extremely reasonable, location is great, and again has been a delightful stay, would highly highly highly recommend!

Ps though we've come to Lincoln for business I would happily stay here for a couples holiday easily!!!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Dani246R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, Owner at Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

We were very pleased to welcome you back to Hillcrest, and are over the moon you had such a nice stay, Thank you very much for your review, it really does mean a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews