We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient location, nice place”
Review of Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillcrest
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convient location, nice place”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for just one night. Is located on a quite street with plenty of parking. Reception is not by the front so have to buzz to be let in then receptionist brings your keys. Stayed in room 1 which was good size but bathroom was bit basic looking with small shower. We didn't have a view but clearly some rooms will have great one across Lincoln. Breakfast is in a bright conservatory area. Location is handy for the Cathedral quarter with not too much of a hill to climb.

Room Tip: As for one with a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
82
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed as part of a University Reunion which landed in Lincoln this year.

Comfortable and clean room with a stunning view.

Good location for the Cathedral.

Good breakfast.

Interesting Reception. As Hillcrest is on the side of a hill the Reception, Bar and Restaurant are one floor down from the entrance.

If we come back to Lincoln we shall definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel was superb and the facilities were too. We had the four poster room overlooking the park and a great view of Lincoln and it was superb. Free bottles of wine in the room too! Nice and quiet road and literally 5 mins walk to the Cathederal and Castle area. Breakfast was superb and the staff very friendly. I want to go back this weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've stayed here a few times with the kids and it's always been pleasant and friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate some diet restrictions. We've also been able to put the kids to bed and have dinner in the conservatory restaurant overlooking the city. Food is good and it's a lovely quiet spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt345346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visited the HIllcrest in Lincoln for a two night stay. We found the hotel very pleasant overlooking the arboretum. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable.

The breakfast was good and filling and our host welcoming, helpful with a very happy disposition. .

Our host told us about a museum in Lincoln called Lincoln Life which was so interesting and extremely well done. If we had not been told about this wonderful museum we would have missed a great experience so thank you for that. If we visit Lincoln in the future we would certainly rebook. Good luck in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the arboretum which is a lovely scene to look out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Constable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed this quiet, peaceful and classic hotel as the base for a college reunion. The bedroom, reception and dining room where all in good Lincoln heritage style. The breakfast was good and everyone friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasternWelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have just had a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Usually I don't tend to book 2 star establishments but I had looked at this and thought it was worth a go and I am so glad I gave it a chance. The welcome was warm and friendly and nothing was a problem to the staff at all. We were even able to check in at 10.30 in the morning when we weren't suppose to be checking in until 2 pm. The rooms are well appointed, clean and nice and light and airy. The beds were extremely comfortable and I had a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was served swiftly and was spot on. The only reason why this hotel is not rated higher on the stars front is because it doesn't meet certain criteria like a full time receptionist, however this was never a problem as someone was always on hand if you required anything. This is a lovely, friendly hotel and I will definitely stay here again when I visit Lincoln.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.6 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest

Property: Hillcrest
Address: 15 Lindum Terrace, Lincoln LN2 5RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillcrest 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Hotel is a small family run hotel which backs onto Lincoln's tree park, the ideal place to go for walk or a jog, or simply sit in our conservatory and watch the world go by.All our rooms are ensuite, mostly with showers, all include flat screen televisions with Freeview, complimentary in room beverages, Free WiFi throughout, feather duvets & top pillows, which can be changed if required, please advise us at time of reservation.We are pleased to offer complimentary on site parking, which is limited, with reservations not being possible, also ample free on street parking.Hillcrest is situated only a short stroll to Lincoln Cathedral, Castle, Steep Hill, with all their amenities, when you are all shopped out why not visit The Usher Gallery & museum, or Lincoln Archives in Rumbold Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing