We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect poached egg!”

Carholme Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carholme Guest House
Ranked #40 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This has to be one of the best breakfasts in Lincolnshire, a truly perfectly poached egg with crisp bacon, lots of coffee and toast. Lynne was so friendly and made me really welcome on what will be the first of many visits. Comfortable room, beautifully clean with nice sheets and fluffy towels. Carholme will be hard to beat, thank you for a good stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Agalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was the first time we visited Lincoln and we did so for a wedding locally. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. We knew we didn't want a soul-less chain hotel but we couldn't have picked better. Paula was flexible around our timings for the wedding and her plans (for her birthday) to let us check in and the small touches when we came home didn't go unnoticed. From chocolates and water (ideal if you need a bit of rehydration) to a spotless room with incredibly fresh bedding, the type of things you notice because they're worth noticing. Paula must work incredibly hard to maintain the high standards of Carholme because the reviews seem consistent, well deserved. And the breakfast, we couldn't have asked for anything more. She had everything and offered more, including lovely conversation both with her and Steve and good city recommendations. Would love to visit Lincoln again and without a doubt would only stay here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 03Hannah-E75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have just spent a great weekend in Lincoln staying at the Carholme Guest House. This is a lovely, family-run B & B. My room was very comfortable and, though I had only booked a single room, Paula had thoughtfully "promoted" me to a double with ensuite because she's had a cancellation. There's a great deal of choice on offer at breakfast and both of mine were delicious. I'd recommend the Carholme to anyone looking for good-value, welcoming accommodation in Lincoln.

Catherine from Edinburgh

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been working in Lincoln for the last month,and have stayed at the Carholme for the past 3 weeks.Paula and john and wonderful hosts and the place is spotless,nicely decorated and unlike other houses everything in the rooms work i.e remote control for tv.
For as long as I am working in Lincoln I will definitely only be staying at the Carholme guesthouse.
So if your ever in Lincoln either on business or pleasure do yourself a favour
Dont even bother looking anywhere else cause the Carholme will be hard to beat

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Paula and Steve thoroughly deserve all the excellent reviews they receive for their hard work at Carholme. We had a fantastic stay and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. We couldn't fault anything. The room was lovely, breakfast amazing, and Carholme is in an ideal location with easy access by foot into Lincoln. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Although in Lincoln for business, our stay at Carholme transformed it into a holiday experience. Paula and Steve are wonderful hosts, rooms were very clean and nicely decorated, and I think I gained 5 kilos due solely to the outstanding breakfasts. I know I will stay at Carholme the next time I am in Lincoln.

Thank you for a wonderful experience!
Jeff Tomberlin

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was in Lincoln for three days and loved staying at the Carholme Guest House. Paula was delightful, my room was extremely comfortable and clean and breakfast was delicious. It was the perfect base for a trip to such a marvellous cathedral city!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoisterDoister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
3.3 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#10 of 51 in Lincoln
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Creston Villa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
3.4 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carholme Guest House

Address: 175 Carholme Road, Lincoln LN1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: $30 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4* rated Guest House situated within walking distance of Lincoln City Centre, University, Cathedral and Castle (Bailgate), and all local shopping areas. En-suite rooms with flat screen TV's with Freeview, Free unlimited Wifi throughout, well stocked beverage trays and comfortable beds. Freshly prepared breakfasts and special diets can be catered for. Free parking permits allowing parking at front of Guest House. Secure parking for 2 cars, numerous pushbikes and motorbikes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing