We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home”

Carholme Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carholme Guest House
Ranked #39 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A warm friendly welcome, felt very at home. Nice clean rooms and a great night sleep and excellent facilities. Lovely to wake up to a home cooked breakfast, felt very comfortable and the hosts recommended good places to eat but equally gave you your own privacy to enjoy your stay. Defiantly would stay there again when in Lincoln.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam08mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed there for one night to enrol for my uni. Upon arrival, Paula told me that she has upgraded me to a double room. The room was clean, cozy, comfortable and nicely decorated. Paula and her husband went out of their way to help me out, as I forgot some important documents and they have printed them out for me. My hosts were happy to prepare me a vegetarian breakfast and order a taxi for the morning, couldn't ask for more, it was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Five of us needed three rooms for two nights to attend a graduation ceremony. First impressions were good. Paula greeted us with a nice friendly welcome and showed us to our rooms. We had a good look around each. Everywhere was absolutely spot less. All rooms were very clean and in very good decorative order. The beds were nice and comfy so we all got a good nights sleep. Breakfasts were really nice with a good choice and plenty of tea and coffee.

The guest house is located on a busy road about 10 to 20 mins walk into the City, depending on how fit you are. There are plenty of things to see and do in and around Lincoln.

The Battle of Britain memorial flight is located just up the road at RAF Conningsby. Make sure the Lancaster is there before you go.I wouldn't bother with the guided tour unless you are really into different types of aircraft mounted machine gun/cannon or are particularly interested in the 21 different marks of Spitfire.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are quieter. Two of our party had both front rooms which, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChokeLever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I couldn't fault a single thing with my stay, the welcome upon arrival was very friendly, great facilities, great breakfast, lovely room! very accommodating in general! i needed my shirt ironing for a wedding and the hostess not only got the iron board out for me, she even offered to iron my shirt! The hotel is in a lovely location also, not only ten minutes walk away form the city centre but with a golf corse literally across the road! fab stay!! home from home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely home, about 10 min walk from city centre.very welcoming with friendly host. Really nice breakfast with many items on menu, would have been happy to help myself to cereals to save on hosts time .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Somerset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at this guest house. Clean room, comfortable bed. Usual tea etc makings. A lounge was available for use if needed. Fine breakfast. Paula was a welcoming and helpful host, with time to have a chat. An old building, well-maintained, that has a cosy feel about it. Walking into Lincoln? Not a big hardship if the weather is acceptable, you are reasonably fit, and you enjoy walking, but be advised - it is half a mile to the Brayford Pool marina/restaurants from the guest house, plus nearly as far again, (and a very steep climb), to the Cathedral/Castle. (A cheap minibus ride from opposite the railway station will take the strain for you!) That said, once in amongst the old, narrow city streets, lined with fascinating old buildings etc, you will find that you do not feel inclined to rush anywhere. This is a lovely old city. Would we stay there again? Yes, without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacey1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My three friends and I recently stayed at Carholme Guesthouse when we were attending a wedding in a nearby village. Before we even arrived, Paula, the owner was absolutely brilliant - supplying me with trusted taxi numbers, answering any questions, recommending restaurants (Pomodoro e Basilico is well worth the recommendation too!).

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were brilliant.

I'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.4 mi away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#20 of 48 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 48 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Loudor
The Loudor
#2 of 3 in North Hykeham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#25 of 48 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brayford Guest House
Brayford Guest House
#9 of 48 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carholme Guest House

Property: Carholme Guest House
Address: 175 Carholme Road, Lincoln LN1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4* rated Guest House situated within walking distance of Lincoln City Centre, University, Cathedral and Castle (Bailgate), and all local shopping areas. En-suite rooms with flat screen TV's with Freeview, Free unlimited Wifi throughout, well stocked beverage trays and comfortable beds. Freshly prepared breakfasts and special diets can be catered for. Free parking permits allowing parking at front of Guest House. Secure parking for 2 cars, numerous pushbikes and motorbikes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing