We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Well Cottage - probably the best location for Lincoln cultural quarter and City
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well Cottage - probably the best location for Lincoln cultural quarter and City
Living room with open Victorian gas fire Living room leading to kitchen and open staircase
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Well Cottage - probably the best location for Lincoln cultural quarter and City
Living room with open Victorian gas fire
Living room leading to kitchen and open staircase
Kitchen with fully integrated units
Kitchen dinning for 4 or 6 guests
Kitchen leading to lounge
Kitchen leading to courtyard
Courtyard
Bathroom with large Jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower and underfloor heating
Spire View double Bedroom
Spire View double Bedroom
Spire View double Bedroom
Spire View double Bedroom
Courtyard View double Bedroom
Courtyard View double Bedroom
Courtyard View double Bedroom
Courtyard
Courtyard seating area with bbq
Steep Hill and Well Lane junction
Well Cottage at night
Lincoln Cathedral views
Well Cottage neighbourhood
Well Cottage neighbourhood
Well Cottage neighborhood
Well Cottage neighborhood
Well Cottage neighborhood
The Well at Well Lane
Well Cottage neighbourhood
World famous Red Arrows based close-by at RAF Scampton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Well Cottage with our family. High quality cottage and great location. Kids loved the jacuzzi bath. We had two cars so the owner let us leave a car at his house which was great. The garage by the cottage is narrow but managed to get the car in and out ok. Would re book to come back and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2017
Thanks Sarah and glad the children loved the Jacuzzi bath! We read the comments they left in the visitors book and it made us smile. We always offer two car clients our secure parking at our house as it keeps the costs of the holiday stay down. We will be delighted to see you and family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Well Cottage is the perfect accommodation when visiting Lincoln in a group of four. There are two bedrooms with a big comfortable double bed, a wardrobe, a bedside table and a desk with mirror each so that there is enough space for luggage. The kitchen and the living room are very modern and spacious with all the necessary such as dishes and cutlery, pots, pans, fridge and extras like washing machine, dish washer, TV, Play Station, books, DVDs and board games. A big terrace with BBQ and the bathroom with bathtub with jets complement it. We found it very useful that the front door is locked by a combination lock so that there is no need to share one key and to always get home together. Everything was very clean and Charles, the owner, provided us with breakfast for the first morning and kept checking that we found the Cottage and that everything was alright during our stay.

Not only is the Cottage itself a great place, it is also perfectly located halfway up Steep Hill right in the historic centre of Lincoln. The main sights including the Cathedral and the Castle, the best tearooms and restaurants and the shopping area on High Street are only a short walk away.

All in all we were very happy that we chose that place and I would love to stay at Well Cottage again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Thank you very much Julia for taking the time to comprehensively review our Cottage. We are very pleased you and your family had a great time at the Cottage and in Lincoln during your graduation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again to our Lincoln little gem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn L
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great value for money, and hosts were suberb”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Well Cottage on short notice on advice from a friend who had stayed there earlier in the year. We were not disappointed as it excelled in all of expectations. It has recently had a complete internal make over and the standard of bed linen and towels etc were excellent - none of the cheap as chips stuff. The Cottage is in great condition and its location on Steep Hill is perfect. The hosts were very helpful during our stay. It even has a secure garage which must have saved us loads on car park fees over our weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thank you very much Carolyn for such an honest and complimentary review. We are working to "up the level" of experience for our clients who stay with us at Well Cottage without increasing the costs. Its location on Steep Hill is probably the best available for up hill and down Lincoln. Thanks again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week in Lincoln and stayed in Well Cottage. Excellent location.
Well appointed cottage. It fit our needs perfectly and felt like home! We would recommend this cottage to everyone who is interested in exploring Lincoln from a cozy and comfortable base. We also enjoyed afternoon tea at Lady Rose's Edwardian Tea Room on Free School Lane, across from the city library. It was the perfect way to end our stay in Lincoln.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2016
We are really pleased you enjoyed our cozy cottage on Well Lane. We have just upgraded some of the furnishings, kitchen furniture and bed linen to hotel standard. So hopefully on your return visit to Lincoln it will be an even more pleasurable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thanks Clare for the rental of your wonderful holiday home. I am not going to repeat here what has said before but we will return. Tackled steep hill a few times glad the cottage was halfway up/down. Loved everything about the cottage. Underfloor heating in the bathroom and kitchen, everywhere clean and fresh linen on the bed. Didnt have time to try the jacuzzi but will on our next visit. The weather was good so we sat in the back on a few days listening to the birds and soaking up the sun filled patio with a drink. The cottage was so relaxing and even though we were slab bang in the centre you wouldn't have known it. If there is one thing I would change it was the annoying load fast ticking clock in the kitchen. It only reminded us that it was closer to us leaving.

Thanks again Clare, wishing you continued success in this delightful holiday rental

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the centre of everything and yet so quiet
Liked least: That blooming clock ha ha
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for this review. We cannot improve upon faultless and we really appreciate that description. It is a beautiful place and would not be able to imagine a better location given the qualities of both up and down the hill. I shall throw the clock away but like a boomerang I'm sure it will fly right back. Thank you also for your wishes

Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWh...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family from Australia stayed there. Was the perfect place. Best Location. Felt at home as soon as door opened. Everything you need from a Property for your a Holiday. Nothing disappointed. Would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you so much for this review. It is fantastic that people from abroad love it too. Lincoln is such a beautiful historic city and it is a super added bonus when your accommodation is to your liking. Thank you Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soulsiste...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We absolutely loved our three nights stay at well cottage , it is located in a great location just minutes walk from the town with the added bonus of a garage , The cottage has a lovely courtyard garden with garden furniture barbecue and patio heater. The cottage is nicely furnished and decorated with a lovely coal fire for those cold nights . Lincoln is a beautiful city steep Hill is a brilliant place for shopping with lots of different shops we visited the cathedral and castle, also the Museum which was free entry and well worth a visit , there is a great selection of places to eat that do good food and plenty of pubs for a drink or two , Lincoln is one of the cleanest cities I have visited it was spotless , we will be definitely going back and staying at well cottage again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this review we really appreciate it. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and please come again. Yes I agree that Lincoln is a clean city, we are very lucky indeed in that respect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing