We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, but parking expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A very comfortable, clean hotel for a city break in Lincoln. The hotel is convenient for the city centre and the staff were all very polite and friendly. The rooms were excellent and fitted with air conditioning which was very welcome in the recent hot weather. The breakfast was fine and well stocked right up to the end of the breakfast serving. I was unhappy that the hotel charged £5.00 parking for each overnight stay which added £15.00 onto our bill, other Holiday Inns have not done this and this did not impress me and would put me off using this hotel again. Also we were woken up early each morning by noise from a building site which was outside our room, not the hotel's fault I appreciate, but a distinct disadvantage when considering booking this hotel again. Also during our stay one of the lifts was out of service (we stayed 3 nights and it wasn't in operation during this time), so the wait for the lift was sometimes long and the lift often full. Despite these points we enjoyed our stay, but do not be so greedy with the parking charges Holiday Inn, we pay enough to stay overnight with you without having to pay out this as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nearby building site
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LYNNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 882 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed for a short break and was very impressed with the hotel. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the standard of room exceeded expectations. The breakfast was more than adequate with choice of cooked, although the self service area was extremely hot and could be crowded at peak times. The hotel is approx 10-15minute walk to train station depending on the level crossing which seemed to be down quite frequently and could delay your arrival by up to 5 minutes The hotel is in the middle of a busy road so it is essential you stick to the pedestrian crossings. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marcopolo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The usual entirely adequate 'standard package' from Holiday Inn Express, but with the welcome addition of an airiness about the place, and very friendly, helpful,staff.

Free WiFi throughout the hotel was good. Inclusive breakfast had sufficient for plenty of variety (and the toaster delivered toast that was toast!)

No disturbance from building site next door, although it could become problematic at some stages of construction

Oh yes, I lied! One little complaint - that barrier to the car park! Wait 30 mins before having the pass validated? And then it didn't always work? Please get it sorted! (but insignificant compared to the many pluses)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZeptoNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed a couple of nights on business. This meant that I didn't take too much advantage of the facilities.

That said, what I did use was excellent. The room was very good with the only slight issue being on the side with the main road. I like to sleep with the window open so it was quite noisy for a while before quietening down.

As usual, there is a complementary breakfast which was better than others I have had and the dining room/bar area was light and airy.

I will be staying again.

Room Tip: Avoid the main road side if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zigzag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Came for an over night stay whilst visiting the area. Staff we're lovely, the room was clean, fresh and a great comfy bed. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and started the morning off with a great start. Would recommend hotel to everyone.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Lynsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is clean and comfortable, representing good value for money. The room rate includes a "free breakfast": a choice of a continental or cooked (which consists of decidedly budget sausages and rather foamy scrambled eggs). If you stay for more than a night or so this may become boring! Since it is all self service, many sleepy guests trying to select food, make hot drinks and operate the ubiquitous conveyor belt toasters makes for risks of collision! Car parking next to the hotel costs £5 for 24 hours and the city centre is within a 10 minutes walk. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PandMScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here with another couple for one night whilst visiting for a wedding.

Location
The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to be in the city centre. It took about 5 mins in a taxi to get right to the top of the city centre and then about 20 mins walk back from the further part. It's close to a retail park if you need any shopping. It is just a few mins walk to the marina. Which has a couple of pubs and lots of good stops along the way. We ate a Chimichanga, which was very nice and reasonably prices.

Rooms
The rooms were very stand holiday inn rooms. We has a double room, that could of slept three as there was a double bed and a sofa bed. There is a tv, hair dryer, complimentary tea and coffee. There was a little note in the bathroom to say I we had forgotten anything to bob down to reception and they would sort us out. The rooms were spotlessly clean.

Service
When we arrived at the hotel, we had rung the day before to ask if we could have an early check in as we were attending a wedding at 12, this was all arranged for us. The staff were very helpful and booked us a taxi to take us to the venue. They also booked us a taxi later in the day and again where very helpful, came over to us in reception and told us the company of the taxi, when and where it would arrive.

Breakfast
The breakfast is included in the price of the rooms. The choice is not cast but it ok for a free breakfast. They have scrambled eggs, beans and sausages. Then a selection of yogurt, fruit, cereal, croissants and toast. Enough to get you going, but if you want full English you might have to go else where.

The only con
Doesn't really have anything to do with the hotel but lincoln it's self! The place is covered in enormous flys, not your standard blue bottles. These are big clumsy things that fly at you. They are everywhere and spoilt our day a bit as you couldn't sit outside without brig attacked by them.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jordan0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,799 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre

Address: Brayford Enterprise Park Ruston Way | Ruston Way, Lincoln LN6 7DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln
#3 Family Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: $89 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the sleek Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre hotel for contemporary comfort in the heart of Lincoln's business district. It's a short trip from Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre to Lincolnshire Showground for your event or conference. Afterwards, you can catch up with colleagues over a drink or meal in our vibrant Lobby or dine out at the numerous restaurants on nearby Lincoln High Street. Or head back to your air-conditioned Guest room where free Wi-Fi allows you to work at your desk in peace and quiet. We're a 5-mile drive from Lincolnshire Showground, and 40 miles from East Midlands Airport. Drivers can relax as there's plenty of secure parking at our hotel. Invite colleagues to meet in our naturally lit meeting room. Or work via complimentary WiFi in the hotel's striking aubergine and cream toned public areas.Set just behind Lincoln High Street, the Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre puts brand-name shopping and trendy restaurants right on your doorstep. It's a pleasant 15-minute stroll to Lincoln University and the craft shops of the cobbled Cathedral Quarter. An enticing selection of bars makes buzzing Brayford waterfront a good choice for your night out. Kick-start your day with our complimentary continental breakfast with hot items. Spend evenings relaxing with friends over drinks in the Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre's stylish Great Room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing