We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Great location”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and i stayed for one night on Saturday night on a short visit to Lincoln. We received a warm welcome. The room was beautifully done and very tastefully decorated. It was also nice that they had the heating on, not too high, so the room was nice and warm when we went in, as it was freezing cold outside. The bed was soooo comfortable, enjoyed a good night sleep after a really long day.
Breakfast was good, served again by pleasant staff. (and thanks for the nice table).
We will most certainly return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sim1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for The Tower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 355 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted a hotel that was near the castle , cathedral & all those lovely little shops that make shopping special. We weren't disappointed! The hotel location was 100%. The staff were not only friendly, but couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were classy & comfortable. We decided to eat in the hotel in the evening & the a la carte menu was the NICEST FOOD we have tasted. The chef, Darren Rogan, presented us with food like we have never tasted before, despite being in many 4 star hotels. Our waiter was friendly & couldn't have been more informative.Whilst shopping we told all the locals how beautiful the hotel & restaurant was as there are so many places to eat, but you can eat in the restaurant even if you are not staying at the hotel.We will definitely be going to the Tower hotel again. A perfect weekend.

Room Tip: We were shown 2 rooms which were available, both were lovely, we chose room 14 which was perfect. No...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were treated well from the moment we walked in the door. The rooms were clean, tidy and well appointed. The staff in every part of the hotel were warm and friendly ... nothing was too much trouble ... the food was great too! I have no hesitation in recommending The Tower Hotel to anyone interested in a break in Lincoln. Plus it's perfectly located near a reasonably priced car park and only minutes away from the cathedral, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexAndyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked 2 nights at quite short notice. The staff were all very friendly. A lovely bar and seating area outside both were very nice. The room was very clean and comfortable, al in all a very pleasant break.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here this weekend in a family room on the 2nd floor with our dog. Very clean & comfortable, staff very helpful. Only 2 minutes walk to the cathedral and castle. Bar fairly lively downstairs but we didn't hear any noise. Good choice of pubs and restaurants in the area. English breakfast very good, sausages delicious. Even got 50% refund for car parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooster100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Brilliant stay here on Oct 12/13th with a party of 9 couples.
Staff very friendly and accomodating. Lovely rooms and comfortable beds.
Excellent breakfast.
Fantastic, lively, well stocked bar.
Thank you all, cant wait to come back !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed Sept 27/28th for a family wedding at The White Hart Hotel and although we booked quite some time ago, the room allocated to us was a single. This didn't seem to be a problem as we were changed to a double. We were given room 2, which was above the bar. I was disappointed with the quality of furnishings, including an old carpet, light fittings and curtains. 3 mirrors but no other wall decorations or pictures. The furniture was poor quality and although the bed was fine, a standard double, sleep quality wasn't good. It was a hot room, but having the window opened only increased the noise from the bar and outdoor seating area. It was very noisy Friday evening, due to a wedding party, but it had quietened down by just after midnight. Cleanliness was fine, with nice toiletries in the good sized bathroom. Shower wasn't brilliant and kept running hot and cold. Only one single towel, two bath towels, no wash-cloths; didn't like the plastic beakers. Tea and coffee making facilities available, but no complimentary biscuits.
Dining room and bar had obviously been tastefully updated in contempory style; the reception area was small and a little congested as this was the main thoroughfare, even the staff seemed cramped. Staff were friendly but not always availble to answer questions or serve in the bar area.
Only had breakfast there, but it was very good, cooked to order and we didn't have to wait long. Some pastries or croissant and plain yogurts would have been a nice alternative and different types of tea available on offer. Didn't have a choice of where to sit as tables had been allocated, havn't come across that before!
Parking was convienient across the road in the NCP carpark, where we parked for the 2 days we stayed; 50% refund on the ticket cost was fine.
Great location to see the castle, cathederal and upper town, but an obvious long walk down to the main shopping area and a very steep, slow walk back!
I don't think it was value for money, especially when I saw the quality of other family members' rooms in other hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter after the bar has closed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
2.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Address: 38 Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: $91 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Lincoln’s Cathedral Quarter, The Tower Hotel is a 3 AA star Hotel and is ideally located for exploring the historical city; either on foot or as a base for visiting the surrounding villages, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing