We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about OK”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #18 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was a huge disappointment. The only plus was the lovely lady who checked us in.

We stayed one night and that was enough. Being virtually the only guests in the hotel on Xmas Eve we expected to be left to our own devices and not be overrun with staff but to have to call out the duty manager to turn the heating on was not our idea of service. Clearly they run the hotel on a shoestring.

We are also a bit bemused by the use of the word "boutique" that word seems to be used as a marketing ploy by so many hotels, we no longer take any notice.

On the plus side, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring the old part of Lincoln.

Chris and Paula Lewis

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Lewis,

We are so sorry to hear you were less than happy with your stay. Our reception is usually manned from 7am to 9pm, however during the very quite Christmas period we do reduce our staffing levels accordingly. As the duty manager, and living very close to the hotel, I am able to assist with any problems that may be encountered, as was the case with the heating which needed to be reset on the date in question.

I am glad you found our staff helpful and courteous, and our locations ideal for exploring the sights of uphill Lincoln. However, please accept my most sincere apologies, and we hope that you will return to Lincoln and to the Bail House to experience our charming hotel again.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 568 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Location wise, it's just across a cobbled road to the cathedral at the top of Lincolns "steep hill"
We were allocated a attic room, the stairs are narrow and very steep, this room is not suitable for someone with access needs. Going down the stairs was quite tricky as it had a missing hand as you left the room. If you are taller than 6ft prepare to bang your head in the this room., also on the entrance to the breakfast area.
Breakfast was quite expensive and not included in the room rate, which made a moderately priced hotel expensive. There is a car park to the rear of the hotel which is gated and exclusively for the guests, which is at a cost.
Would I stay here again, no, recommend it, yes, but only for someone under 5ft 10, who used to be a mountain goat in a former life and does not drive.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveykbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion your stay did not match up to your expectations. It is my belief that you booked a standard double room with us in our mews property as opposed to the main hotel building. Due to the age and history of our hotel and mews properties, which date back over 600 years, steep stairs and low doorways are unavoidable, a quirk we believe adds to the character and charm of the accommodation we offer. We do ensure this information is transcribed to all of our guests upon booking, through our website and on our booking confirmations to avoid any surprises and to ensure guests are aware of any challenges that may present themselves before arrival. Should any of these features be an obstacle, we would do our utmost to find a suitable alternative for the guest.

The items on our breakfast menu are locally sourced and cooked fresh to order; while breakfast isn’t included in our online rates we do offer generous bed and breakfast deals when guests book with us privately. With regards to your comments about our car park: secure, off road parking is a rare commodity in uphill Lincoln and we do conduct regular price checks to ensure our parking charges are in line with others in the area. Likewise, information regarding additional charges is clearly communicated to all guests upon booking and in our booking confirmations.

Once again we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and should you be returning to Lincoln we hope you will give us another chance and sample one of our beautiful four poster rooms here in the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Such a lovely hotel in a great location! They have thought of everything and paid particular attention to "fine detail." Four poster bed was highlight....I would recommend Bail House and definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fordievale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Reviews like this are reminders of why all of us here work in the hospitality industry. Thank you for your positive comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bail House in the future.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

2nd year at the Bailhouse for the Xmas market, mews was lovely and warm and inviting, lady on reception was very friendly, my mews wast ready when I arrived, so I took myself of into the market early,when I returned it was ready, all was good till breakfast, they obviously struggle to cope with a few hotel, I was asked what I wanted for breakfast when I tod her, she replied "sorry we are ony doing full English because the hotel is full"???? So why ask me, then my tea never arrived nor dd my toast had to ask 3 times, when asked for some marmalade he said "yes we do its in the fridge " and walked away??? So I go without then???,very poor service. Checked out, and then they had to move 2 cars so I could get mine out, the reason I returned this year was because of the great time,service and breakfast I had last year, I will attend again the market as I love it, but not too the Bailhouse Mews, a new hotel will be found. Shame because of its location it's spot on.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Lynette549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not quite match up to the previous year. We feel that return guests are our greatest achievement and we are sad to see that your stay with us was less than perfect. May I take this opportunity to apologise for the issues you found with breakfast on the morning of your stay.

Lincoln Christmas Market certainly is a very busy time of year for us and due to the high number of guests we have staying with us over the market period the breakfast menu was limited to ensure waiting times were kept to a minimum. This information should have been made available to you immediately from our breakfast staff. While this is a busy time of year for us, the standard of service should remain exemplary. Rest assured further training has since been implemented to ensure your experience is not repeated.

We are glad to hear that you found your mews cottage welcoming and that our reception staff left a positive impression with you during your stay. Our gated car park provides guests with a secure place to leave their car and enjoy the sights of Lincoln without having to worry, for this reason our car park can become quite full. During busy periods such as the Christmas Market car keys are collected so that in the event that a guest whose car is double parked wishes to leave, we can remedy the situation and create an exit for the guest as swiftly as possible.

We do hope that if you return to Lincoln next year you will give us another chance to demonstrate our usually uncompromisable excellent service.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Although the period self catering property accommodates 8 people for sleeping, the facilities provided are totally inadequate for self catering for that number. We had booked it for a family christmas for 7 adults but fortunately viewed it and found that there is seating for 4 at the dining table and for 4 in the living room. Although the hotel lounge is available for use, access in across an uneven, poorly lit courtyard, unsuitable for those not sure footed. Cooking utensils are inadequate. There is only one loo and a separate shower over a small bath. Photos taken with a blackberry and are poor quality.

We cancelled our booking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Lady-on-Business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

I'm sorry to hear that you found the accommodation booked unsatisfactory. Our self-catering properties are not usually equipped for something as elaborate as a Christmas dinner, but we do every year ensure, that should we have any bookings over the festive period, the kitchens are prepared for the guests requirements.

Since your visit to view the property before your booking, we have taken on board your comments regarding the illumination of the patio as well as increased seating, with a new dining room table. Unfortunately, the nature of the property you booked means seating in the lounge area is limited, but as you state our spacious lounge in the hotel is always available for guests to relax in and take advantage of our complimentary teas and coffees; as well as plentifully stocked honesty bar.

Once again, we are sorry you chose to cancel your booking despite the alternatives offered, though we do understand that the makeup of your party made the other options available untenable. We do hope you will return to Lincoln in the future and book with us.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Super friendly, caring, efficient staff. Lovely room with nice amenities. Delicious breakfast. Fantastic central location - right in the heart of Lincoln. We were able to bring our dogs, which was a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for such a delightful review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff and facilities welcoming and enjoyable. We will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our tearooms staff who I’m sure with be very pleased. We hope you will come and visit us again should you decide to return to Lincoln.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My sister and i stayed here for one night and had never been to lincoln before. We thought it was a nice set up and the staff were lovely and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean. We didnt eat here but the menu looked nice. We'd definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and that our staff left a positive impression. We hope to welcome you back to the Bail House & Mews in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: $84 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing