We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
54
68
31
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
54
68
31
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast boiled eggs city centre shampoo and soap warm croissants restaurants bars pleasant lady small hotel coach station single room the location is perfect first floor tea and coffee will stay there again highly recommend this hotel enjoyed my stay leicester cathedral
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 184 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018

A late Victorian building occupying a corner site in the very centre of Leicester, this small hotel has been recently been completely and smartly refurbished in a chic grey palette. The main staircase is particularly bright and welcoming, and the basement breakfast room has been nicely designed and lit, with cushioned chairs, upmarket crockery and attractively-laid tables.

The staircase is, typically, steep, but our petite receptionist insisted on taking our bags both up and down and was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, perhaps one of the great advantages of a family run establishment where everyone has a stake in the business.

Our top floor double room was of a good size and clean and smart; the bed was comfortable, if of basic construction. The en suite bathroom was better than adequate, with a large walk-in shower and good volume and temperature of water. On the down side, the basin was cracked, the loo-roll holder was missing, the fan did not work and there was nowhere in the shower to place your bottles. Hand-wash was provided, but not shampoo.

There was a radiator for cold weather and a fan for warm. On a hot night, like that of our stay, it was necessary to open the window, which, as others have remarked, brought in the sounds of revelry until the small hours, after which Leicester’s loud, if laudable, commitment to keeping the streets clean took over. Not much answer to that really, apart from the installation of air-conditioning, which would put the hotel in a whole new category. I should add that the window was equipped with efficient secondary glazing, so in more temperate times noise should not be a problem.

A really good continental breakfast is served until 09h30 – with a huge selection, including oven-warm croissants and pain au chocolat, boiled eggs, cheeses, salami and fruit, yoghourt, cereals, tea and coffee in Thermos flasks and a toaster. As one would expect in a hotel of this kind, there was a slightly greater reliance on packaged items, such as butter, jam and so on, but all were of good quality.

Reception is clean crisp and bright. Car-parking is in a nearby multi-storey, not so easy to find the first time – Tom Tom was defeated – but the hotel will give you directions. £15 for an overnight stay and no special rates.

All in all, this was a really pleasant stay with extremely agreeable staff, and an excellent breakfast, all for about £70. The management of Hambleton Hall (where we spent the previous night) might come here and learn a thing or two about making your guests feel welcome – and indeed how to lay on a decent breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Nice location, close to the lanes shopping/cafe-district as well as the Richard III center and cathedral. Hotel has a continental breakfast, but there was a nice selection of cereals and stuff. Wifi was a bit iffy when we arrived, but they fixed that the following day and it was apparently because they had switched to fiber.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Staff friendly. The room was lovely and comfortable with a lush thick carpet. Looked like the room had resently been refurbished. The buffet continental brakfast has a huge selection of quality items.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank HelpMeLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for Castle Park Hotel In Leicester. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

Positives:
Located right in the very heart of the City Centre. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and well decorated. Continental breakfast was lovely.
Negatives:
Right by a nightclub and there isn't any proofing in the rooms. The hairdryer had a european plug and we had to keep going down to reception to try and get a working adapter. Wi-fi was too slow for any kind of business use.

Room tip: Bring ear plugs and a European plug adapter
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for Castle Park Hotel In Leicester. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

This place is located near Bistrot Pierre & Firebug up by the city centre so its pretty handy, the staff were very friendly and the decor looked like it was in process of being updated which was nice. Our room was well heated which is a good thing. My parents in the other room had issues with their TV remote so they had to borrow ours.

For what we got the price was pretty reasonable, we had breakfast too which was a nice spread of cereals,meats, fruits, breads etc. Which was more than we were expecting but very pleasant nonetheless.
Our only issue was the fact it gets so noisy at night in the city centre, it kept us up most the night. I had to be up early and I got awoken frequently by a car alarm and the clank of bottles being dumped into a outside bin. I was absolutely knackered in the morning. This is obviously of no fault of the hotel, but a suggestion may be for them to see if they can install some sound reduction solutions (double glazing etc.). Leicester city centre can get stupidly noisy, especially on weekends.
If I had to return to Leicester and needed somewhere to stay (and I didn't need to be up early) I'd probably come back to this place, it had a nice atmosphere.

Room tip: If noise is a issue try getting a room facing more on the inside of the building/ further away from the side facing Bistrot Peirre.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Casanovaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for Castle Park Hotel In Leicester. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews