We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value & good location”
Review of Castle Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff, Anita, was very helpful & friendly. She even remembered we skipped our breakfast for slept in late. The location is right in the middle of the city, convenient for us to walk to all the tourist spots, easy walk to Railway station, restaurants & bars around. We were upgraded to a family rooms in the third floor, it provided a better view but this was only limited to travellers that can climb stairs. Breakfast is better than we expected. The down side is the bed is too soft and did not provide sufficient support.

Room Tip: Corner side provides 2 sided street view & you can see town hall. prepared to carry your own lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guominer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great value hotel. Very helpful staff; very clean and well appointed. Breakfast has loads of choice. Great location in the city centre, near nice shops in 'The Lanes', restaurants, bars, theatre etc and an easy walk from the railway station. Feels like a safe area too. I stayed here on two occasions in one week, for work, and I'd be happy to come back if I ever need to stay in Leicester again. One small reservation - no lift - so guests need to be able to climb stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 318,808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great place to stay if you want a simple, clean, no frills good value room for the night. The rooms are tastefully minimal in their decoration with nice art and all the amenities you could need. Really friendly staff who are quick to help with any queries, and nice views out onto the old part of the city from the 3rd floor. A little noisy from the road below, but the hot showers and comfy bed more than make up for it. I really enjoyed my stay here and I will definitely come again next time i'm in Leicester.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here in Wednesday night last week.
Anita on Reception when I arrived was lovely, and could not have been more helpful.
She upgraded me to an en-suite room, following a cancellation.
She provided me with maps and directions, being a newcomer in Leicester.
She turned up again at 8 a.m and served a gorgeous breakfast that was far more varied and tasty than the term 'continental' might imply - hot boiled eggs, warm croissants, cold meats, fresh fruit and cheeses, yoghurt etc.
All in all, a most comfortable - and value for money - experience.
Lastly, whatever the Owner pays Anita, I doubt it is enough !

Room Tip: Maybe try to avoid a room overlooking the street if it is a pub night for students (not an issue the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, Monday & Friday, as we were travelling to southern regions we decided to take a break half way down, and also on the return journey
As in the title the accomodation was basic( nice powerful showers though) we had a double room en suite although the bed was actually 2 singles pushed together.
A pleasent young lady met us and booked us in without any fuss, and gave us a choice of floors to stay on, though she reccomended the 3rd, to avoid most of the noise from the pub opposite, although it was hardly audible (even on the Friday)
A very well laid out continental breakfast greeted us in the morning with plenty of fresh produce to choose from.
A bit of advice to the owners GET proper double beds

Room Tip: Take the advice and room on the 3rd floor, although this means climbing three flights, but it'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAPPYBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Small B&B type hotel. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was free and was very nice. Also had free Wifi. Very central location and very good value for the prices they charge. We had a first floor twin room with lovely ensuite and double bed and single bed very spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I fell in love with this place as soon as I walked in. Well actually with the receptionist who is stunningly beautiful, So maybe my review is a little biased.
It's a strange hotel with the reception manned only until 8pm at the latest but more realistically until the last person checks in. The rooms are large enough with a kettle, iron and ironing board. Also a hairdryer if needed. I found the beds really comfortable and slept really well on both my visits. I stayed in room 303 on my first visit and 304 on my second visit. They were the two singles making a double as have been discussed and I am really surprised to read that people found them uncomfortable.
Breakfast is only served from 8:45 to 10:00 which i find quite bizarre. fortunately this did not cause a problem for me.
It's clean, comfortable and in a great location for the City centre and at the price will be my first choice when I visit Leicester in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChris19751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Park Hotel

Address: 12 Millstone Lane, Leicester LE1 5JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: $75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Park Hotel is an ideal place for business executives and tourists to enjoy the city centre facilities and to relax in this homely, friendly, comfortable hotel. Surrounded by quality restaurants, bars, also boasting one of the best shopping centres. All within two minuts walk! The close proximity of both the train station, bust stations, the Demontfort and Leicester Universities.Leicester Universities.All rooms have en suite, colour tv, and coffee making facilities.Includes free continental breakfast or full english breakfast from just £2.99 Contract rates and special weekend offers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing