We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wedding to remember”
Review of Hotel Maiyango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maiyango
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely wedding to remember”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

From our initial chat with the Wedding Planner, Helen, we felt very confident and happy with our choice of wedding reception venue. All of our requests and questions were listened to and dealt in a friendly manner and very promptly. We knew that the quality of the food would be excellent as we have eaten at the restaurant several times before, and we liked the modern and urban feel of the hotel. The Moroccan theme of the food and decor fitted in perfectly with our wedding and we were lucky enough to be able to rent out the whole hotel for our guests. Most rooms were ready early on the day of the wedding for our guests to either check in or leave their luggage, and my husband was able to get ready there. The staff on the day of the wedding were wonderfully attentive and bent over backwards to accommodate us and our guests. They were also very friendly and helped to make me and my husband feel super special. The whole day was perfect and and Hotel Maiyango definitely helped to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The rooms are also beautifully decorated and very spacious indeed - a lovely environment to wake up in after a heavy night of celebrating! Lovely!!

Room Tip: It may be an idea to ask about the quieter rooms as some of them can be noisier than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanako B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    76
    28
    19
    19
See reviews for
27
145
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

You go to Maiyango for dinner. It's food is quite outstanding. I'd definitely eat there again. The rooftop terrace bar is also rather nice. The rooms too are very nicely appointed and decked out sort of `MalMaison style'. Yet somehow they don't feel worth the money, perhaps because of the views onto office blocks, tight narrow corridors more like doctor's on-call rooms than a hotel, views of roundabouts and car parks; and being asked to pay extra for a cooked breakfast seems like a swizz. Plus you enter by a weird tiny door at street level and have to go up a lift to the top to check in - this is how they've made the best use of limited space so it's no-one's fault - it is what it is. So I'd say yes definitely eat here, yes it'd be great for a one night business trip when entertaining clients inn their restaurant and too far to go home. But I would not personally consider it for a weekend break.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel really is worth a detour. The rooms are great and so relaxing - just what you need after a hard day or indeed for relaxing weekend. It is across the road from the Holiday Inn but so different individual, classy, contemporary. Staff are well drilled and very friendly and professional on check in. The hotel is fresh and feels as though the staff care. It has touches of Hotel Du Vin in its early days when service mattered so much. I hope this hotelier goes on and creates more of these hotels around UK - Birmingham could do with one!

Room Tip: Make sure you use the great restaurant and deli. Book early at the restaurant to avoid disappointmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Me and my husband have stayed at Maiyango's twice now.. First time was for my brothers wedding. The service has always been excellent and the food is some of the best food i've ever eaten. The rooms are beautiful, Nice and modern with lovely en suite's with dressing gowns, slippers, flannels, towels and lovely toiletries. There is fresh fruit in your room and fresh milk in the fridge to make tea and coffee (Also they provide ground coffee in a jar instead of instant, which was a nice touch!!) As well as the lovely rooms, a few doors down from the hotel is the Restaurant. It's beautiful.. The cocktails are fantastic and the food is amazing.. Presentation is definitely 10/10 and it tasted beautiful. We were also upgraded to breakfast in bed free of charge when we stayed which was nice! All delivered to your door at your preferred time. Both times we went we were greeted by a nice man at reception who was particularly pleasant and helpful. Will not hesitate to stay here again (Shame it's a 4 hour drive ha!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danii H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Last Sunday 13th October, some friends and I had a wonderful few hours at a cocktail making workshop with our own "mixologist" Jessica. It was a social occasion, with seven of us making and tasting cocktails, in a quiet, relaxed and pleasant setting. The booking process was easy and with the restaurant closed, this added to the intimate and relaxed atmosphere. Our mixologist, Jessica was friendly, knowledgeable and patient. She showed us a twist on a classic mojito, flavoured with pineapple and pink peppercorns but was happy to adapt ingredients to individuals' tastes. This was followed by a selection of cocktails, including after eight martinis and cosmopolitons. We were invited and encouraged to explore new ingredients and along with sampling a range of delicious canapes, we learnt a few tricks of the trade and had some laughs along the way. In our group there were vegetarians and non-alcohol drinkers and we all felt included and well catered for. None of us had been to a cocktail workshop before, so didn't quite know what to expect but it was hands on from the start and lots of fun. I would definitely recommend the cocktail workshop experience at Maiyango and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Maiyango on Sat 12th Oct 2013 with friends. Tried to book into the restaurant a few weeks earlier but it was fully booked as so popular & highly recommended! Staff on reception in the afternoon when we arrived & also for checkout, were really friendly, knowledgeable & helpful. Room was lovely - wet room type bathroom was contemporary with Cowshead products. Could've had a choice of pillows!
Continental breakfast was included in the price. We would've upgraded to to something cooked but weren't offered a menu so didn't know we could.
There was a wedding on the 3rd floor but the music went off at midnight which was fine for us. Would recommend for couples & groups of friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Red-Leather-Elephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

On your wedding day you expect a day to remember for the right reasons...not the wrong. Upon entry and explaining that my friend was getting married and she had just arrived with the cake I was told 'And? and then, how many cakes does she have?!' well firstly she had the main cake and cup cakes...this is something that isn't new, nearly every wedding I've been to in the last few years has had a main cake and extras of some kind. After what felt like over 15 minutes a trolley was finally sent down to the bride and the groom while I waited upstairs for them to arrive. Well the cake arrived and two members of staff but my friend was no where to be seen! Apparently they took the cake off her, got in the lift and closed the doors! Now she doesn't want a red carpet or anything special like that but when you've paid a lot of money for a service a service should be given! No body greeted her, her wedding planner wasn't even in on the day of her wedding! And we were ignored for most of the time we were there! The receptionist constantly asked who we were when asking questions and all the staff seemed unaware that they were working! Only 1 person seemed helpful but he was already busy enough setting up a room for over 50 people on his own! The champagne promised arrived 10 minutes before we left for the ceremony. The whole day was a shambles! Once arriving back to the hotel no nibbles were served as promised. At half 5 when we were suppose to be sitting down for a meal and most people had been waiting for 2 hours we were told they were on there way...well how pointless is that just as we sit down for the 3 course meal?! Plus we had to keep asking where they were! Once they twigged we may ask for money back the served them at the end of the night! The food was excellent, I cannot fault that but any awareness of what this meant to the bride and groom didn't exist. They made them wait to sit down but didn't introduce them into the room on arrival so me like an idiot had to make people aware by woooing and clapping my hands together. It wasn't a personal affair as they sell at all. I still think when the bride and groom came out dressed up in their wedding gear they still weren't sure who they were! Absolute let down for the money spent. Would not recommend to anyone. They don't make you wedding day, they seem to go out of their way to ruin it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maiyango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maiyango

Property: Hotel Maiyango
Address: 13-21 St. Nicholas Place, Leicester LE1 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Business Hotel in Leicester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maiyango 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maiyango is the modern quirky restaurant with rooms located in the heart of Leicester, one of England’s oldest cities. The highly acclaimed atmospheric restaurant and cocktail lounge offers a memorable dining experience with a focus on quality ingredients and bold flavours in an informal setting. The bedrooms are thoughtfully designed with bespoke handmade furniture, beautiful commissioned artwork and intimate lighting throughout and all the little touches that are sure to make your stay memorable. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure we are sure that you will have a fantastic experience at Hotel Maiyango that will surpass your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maiyango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maiyango Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing