We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but only if you have a voucher to be worth the price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #247 of 1,127 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Leicester (King Street) offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Good food but only if you have a voucher to be worth the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Been here twice recently and was during lunch with colleagues from work. Had the voucher which gives you 3 courses for £12.95 for dough balls/garlic bread, any pizza, pasta or salad and either fudge cake or ice cream for desert.

Service was good, food was very tasty, price was good with the voucher, cannot justify spending £20 for the three courses.

Would highly recommend and go again, pizza was very tasty and so was the spinach canelloni the next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Husain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, goood value, if a little slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The new gluten free range of pizzas and other dishes is first class, and staff training has obviously been good. I've bben to a couple of Pizza Express and the experience is a slow one, so perhaps not good for those in a hurry. Otherwise we found the ambience vary relaxing, and the prices great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eastmidlander20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good service, lovely and friendly staff, Food was hot and quick and always consitent with the standard. Always happy to provide water with just a food option and the vouchers are a really good way of getting even better value.

Brilliant venue for lunch with female work colleagues.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank guesty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the oldest Pizza Express of the 3 in Leicester and in many ways the best, we went there before visiting the curve and had a voucher for a free bottle of Prosecco as it was my wife's birthday. The service was excellent and the cheerful nature of our waitress Amber was delightful, the other thing I like is they are happy to make you pizzas that are not on the current menu eg Funghi de Bosco.
Overall, a pleasant atmosphere, excellent service and good food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

After arriving at the restaurant 30 mins early and making a slight mistake booking a table on line (wrong day chosen) the manager could not have been more helpful finding us a table. Once seated we were served by a lovely lady who was very pleasant and friendly. Our food arrived promptly and was delicious. All of our plates went back completely empty. All in all we couldn't fault a thing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing