We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Thali”
Review of Sayonara Thali

Sayonara Thali
Ranked #83 of 1,159 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
York, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly Thali”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch, so friendly, and really good food at good price. I can't guarantee it's the best in the area, but a solid choice, and salted lassi is new on me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scackleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    70
    13
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food and great hospitality”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I came here 2 years ago for the first time whilst visiting Leicester and was impressed the first time around. 2 years later back again and food and service were still outstanding. Will definitely return and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almunecar, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food and people”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ate here with my Mum, cold and rainy day, but the food really cheered us up. We both had Thali Special, delicious, authentic food. Owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Told us good place to shop for spices. Atmosphere in restaurant also very good as rest of the diners were obviously enjoying their food as well, one group had been coming for years. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah608988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Happy Diwali”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at a packed Golden Mile for the Diwali celebrations last night, with the hope of being able to get a restaurant table on spec. Had been to Sayonara a couple of times before 4-5 years ago and it was our first choice to eat. Luckily for us, a table became vacant just as we arrived.

Sayonara is more like a cafe/bistro than a restaurant. Simple decor, unfussy tables and absolutely great vegetarian food. We had the chilli paneer, curry of the day, rice and stiffed nan. Fabulous service. Great value. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidAllenBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy just like home”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My second visit in aweek, great thali and the puran puri was yummy, second time I had the stuffed paratha and yogurt , ummmmm so lovely ,the parathas were piping hot that my niece was eating them wife a knife and fork they were so yummy. Can't find any faults and great service from all the staff, small restaurant and theymade us feel like family then just another table. Will definitely keep going there again and again.Thanks to the waiter that served us , he was a student and had a lot in common with my daughter.neice and nephew, thanks also to Anand who served us the first time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daksha_parmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sayonara Thali also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Sayonara Thali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing