We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Very Good for Snacks”
Review of Bobby's

Bobby's
Ranked #141 of 1,170 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Clean and Very Good for Snacks”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have eaten at Bobby's since I was a child and even more recently wanted to take my wife there. I have also tried all the varieties of Sweets such as Barfi and even had the Dhokla's. In my opinion, they do a great range of Indian Mixtures, so if you fancy something savoury and something a bit spicy, their selection should hit the spot. Service is usual for an Indian, not excellent and not poor, just average. Over the years the price of Bobby's has increased, but bearing in mind the ingredients cannot be considered exotic any more and therefore not hard to souce, there should be consistency with this.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifeoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    88
    48
    40
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good value and great sweets”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

called in for lunch and enjoyed the food ,particularly the Guejarati Aubergine dish. Bought sweets for a family celebration which were great. Particularly pleased that they offered sweets for diabetics so all our family party could be catered for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawkin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Kept Waiting”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived at this restaurant but unfortunately kept waiting for over 20 minutes even though we had pre booked a table. We all shared a starter which was a mixture of dhokla, crispy bhaja, batetawada and stuffed chilli peppers, have to be honest the dhokla was so soft and spongy and melted in the mouth. Shame there was not enough chutney to go round for eight people. For our mains we all ordered the special thali. The order did get a bit mixed up so whilst some of us started to eat our food otherwise it would have got really cold, as when the food did arrive it was luke warm, other’s had to wait which was a shame. Overall the food was good and would recommend to family and friends if in this vicinity.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good value buffet lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick Sunday lunch and found a buffet which we enjoyed but it was quite potatoe heavy although I have to say the potatoe methi was very very good. The service was quick and sweet and we were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the negative reviews.
The sweets and snacks for sale in the downstairs shop looked great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aquabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“meh...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I didn't really enjoy this restaurant, after eating potato after potato you missed the meat. My parents enjoyed it though. Nevertheless, the taste was still good but was quite spicy for a person with a sensitive tongue like myself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pizaaaaa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby's also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Bobby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing