We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, would go back again.”
Review of Campbells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Campbells Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Leicester B&B and Inns
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, would go back again.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have stayed here three times now and on all occasions have been pleasantly satisfied with our stay.
Clean, tidy, afforadable and a nice walk into Leicester from where the hotel is situated.
There are two parks just nearby which the children enjoyed going to too :)
We will be visiting again !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 644357Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    7
    6
    16
See reviews for
8
9
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a room at the front of the building and slept with the windows open and were not awakened by street noise despite being light sleepers. The bed was very comfortable and the facilities clean and in good working order. There was no problem getting a parking space on the street despite returning to the hotel quite late each night. We would definitely stay there on any future stay in Leicester. Also, it is about a mile or less from the city centre, so within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefiB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am an international student at DMU Leicester and stayed at Campbells for a night when I first arrived in Leicester (October 2010).
The location of the hotel is very good (especially for DMU students) as the hotel is situated on Narborough Road (full of fast food shops and convenience stores) and is around 10 mins walk to DMU.
The room was small but very clean and tidy. Had tv, kettle and tea and coffee sachets in the room. The breakfast was good and the owner of the hotel seemed like an interesting guy. The only bad thing about my stay was that the shared bathroom was on a different floor than my room and it wasn't easy going up and down the stairs at night with the stairs making all the noises.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khattak84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great for the price, Nice people working there and laid back surroundings. Had a lovely stay! xxxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here for four nights on buisiness. It is by far the worst digs I have stayed in, all the time I have been working away.
I didn`t use the shower once, and was reluctant to use the bathroom at all. The hotel is dated, and to be honest just dirty. It certainly leaves a lot to be desired.
I had to pay a deposit to secure the booking, and also had to pay the balance as I arrived, before I even had a chance to look at the room. The frontage, looks quite inviting, but it ends there.
I asked if a fridge could be made available, I was told it could. No fridge!!
I won`t bother with much more, just don`t bother staying there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhwe else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kthdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

this hotel needs gutting and refurbishing, the web sight said they had a bar which is untrue they also claimed to serve breakfast which was also untrue. the rooms were filthy, there are no fire regulations my sisters and i did not stay as we feared that we might catch something so we left and stayed somewhere else, although we did get our money back when we complained, i will stop there as i could write a book about all the things that are wrong, please avoid this place like the plauge.

Room Tip: we stayed at the premier inn which is only another mile away, this was like walking into heaven afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were not satisfied with the double room we stayed in. I think the worst was that the mattress was too hard for my liking and the bathroom smelled of second-hand smoke.

The bed was situated at a odd place in the room, right up against the wall side on, which made it difficult for the person sleeping on the side closest to the wall to get out.

The shower/loo was quite small, too small to change in which is acceptable for a B&B with a very low rate. But the bracket for the shower head was broken and the extractor fan only worked when you turned the light off; and then it didn't work properly. This was annoying. Also the room was bare, with no carpet or decorations of any kind, although the cost of staying in the room was very low, I think just a few prints hanging up would make the room a little more confortable to stay in.

There were a few small but essential (again not expensive) things that were lacking at breakfast. There was no coffee and nothing to put on toast apart from butter. I think there were 2 cereals available to choose from.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating when we arrived, however that was the last we saw of them.

Cheap and friendly but not to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigges101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
899 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#26 of 40 in Leicester
429 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#16 of 40 in Leicester
490 reviews
1.7 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#36 of 40 in Leicester
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbells Hotel

Property: Campbells Hotel
Address: 17-19 Westleigh Road, Leicester LE3 0HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campbells Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Campbell's Guesthouse in Leicester. Campbells Guesthouse [formally Hotel] ia a family run guesthouse just a few minutes walk from the City Centre. We offer a simple informal place to stay whether visiting for a night or long term.We do our utmost to be flexable and accomadating at a low price. Please note that many online referances are very outdated & incorrect - so please check with us for any question.Whilst we do not provide breakfast as part of the booking it should be noted there are many good cafe and eating options close by. We also provide a microwave, toaster and kettle in the TV lounge in addition to the tea/coffee making in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Campbells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing