We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Staff, Homely Place, Affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Campbells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campbells Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Leicester B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff, Homely Place, Affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great for the price, Nice people working there and laid back surroundings. Had a lovely stay! xxxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    6
    6
    16
See reviews for
8
9
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here for four nights on buisiness. It is by far the worst digs I have stayed in, all the time I have been working away.
I didn`t use the shower once, and was reluctant to use the bathroom at all. The hotel is dated, and to be honest just dirty. It certainly leaves a lot to be desired.
I had to pay a deposit to secure the booking, and also had to pay the balance as I arrived, before I even had a chance to look at the room. The frontage, looks quite inviting, but it ends there.
I asked if a fridge could be made available, I was told it could. No fridge!!
I won`t bother with much more, just don`t bother staying there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhwe else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kthdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

this hotel needs gutting and refurbishing, the web sight said they had a bar which is untrue they also claimed to serve breakfast which was also untrue. the rooms were filthy, there are no fire regulations my sisters and i did not stay as we feared that we might catch something so we left and stayed somewhere else, although we did get our money back when we complained, i will stop there as i could write a book about all the things that are wrong, please avoid this place like the plauge.

Room Tip: we stayed at the premier inn which is only another mile away, this was like walking into heaven afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were not satisfied with the double room we stayed in. I think the worst was that the mattress was too hard for my liking and the bathroom smelled of second-hand smoke.

The bed was situated at a odd place in the room, right up against the wall side on, which made it difficult for the person sleeping on the side closest to the wall to get out.

The shower/loo was quite small, too small to change in which is acceptable for a B&B with a very low rate. But the bracket for the shower head was broken and the extractor fan only worked when you turned the light off; and then it didn't work properly. This was annoying. Also the room was bare, with no carpet or decorations of any kind, although the cost of staying in the room was very low, I think just a few prints hanging up would make the room a little more confortable to stay in.

There were a few small but essential (again not expensive) things that were lacking at breakfast. There was no coffee and nothing to put on toast apart from butter. I think there were 2 cereals available to choose from.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating when we arrived, however that was the last we saw of them.

Cheap and friendly but not to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigges101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Checked out other reviews first & thought it would be OK, as only using as a base, while visiting my son at Uni.
Manager seemed friendly enough but not really managerial.
Advertised as having a bar & restaurant, a lounge area & parking - It had none of these, even though there were still business cards about in the lobby area for the place, with the same on them.
The breakfast room was more like a very small building site canteen. 5 tables with 2 place settings each - there are 12 rooms! None of the crockery or cutlery matched. There were no proper containers for the cereal, & everything else was shoved in a small glass fronted table top fridge.
Room was upstairs, not really a problem but, their was very poor lighting going up the last flight of stairs, when it was dark outside.
The room was absolutely awful though. 3 different types of anaglypta wallpaper patched in around the room. The window hinge was broken & so would not shut properly, letting a bad draught, & noise through. One of the bedside tables, handle, was missing from the door, so that you could not open it. The wardrobe was completely broken - One door would not shut, the other door was stuck, & when you tried to open it - the whole wardrobe fell on top of you. The back was also hanging off!
The en-suite was a joke! It was like a caravan style bathroom, all in one plastic moulding. As you pulled the shower door across, it was not attached to the fixing the other side, & so water still went everywhere. This also meant that the toilet was less than 3ft from the end of the bed.
I tried to find another place to stay, especially as The Sky Plaza Hotel in the city is the same price, but sadly all were fully booked - This really marred our trip.

The only plus side was that there was free wireless broadband - when it worked!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiSamuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

It has a nice little bar and plesant rooms, the staff were freindly and it added to the stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 644357Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#26 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#23 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbells Hotel

Property: Campbells Hotel
Address: 17-19 Westleigh Road, Leicester LE3 0HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campbells Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Campbell's Guesthouse in Leicester. Campbells Guesthouse [formally Hotel] ia a family run guesthouse just a few minutes walk from the City Centre. We offer a simple informal place to stay whether visiting for a night or long term.We do our utmost to be flexable and accomadating at a low price. Please note that many online referances are very outdated & incorrect - so please check with us for any question.Whilst we do not provide breakfast as part of the booking it should be noted there are many good cafe and eating options close by. We also provide a microwave, toaster and kettle in the TV lounge in addition to the tea/coffee making in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Campbells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing