We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Stoneycroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoneycroft Hotel
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“terrible !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Myself and my partner booked this hotel last minute because got let down by another hotel - what a mstake that was! The hotel reception was dirty and so was the guy behing the desk - he looked like could do with a good wash. On check in we were informed we had been given the honeymoon suite, wow we thought but how how wrong could we be. The room was shabby, carpet dirty, curtains falling off rails and decor left a lot to be desired! thank goodness we were not on our honeymoon! We went off to our concert and returned at midnight and ready for good nights sleep - unfortunatle the people in next room clattered in at 1 and decided to make noise all night, we didnt get any sleep. When we went down for breakfast in morning we noticed lots of dss people with dogs were actually living in the hotel! Breakfat was awful, plates and cutlery dirty, never again would we stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deborah6964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    39
    35
    188
See reviews for
45
60
29
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We wanted a room for the night to attend a celebratory function. We chose this hotel based on location (in a smart area of central leicester). The lobby was a bit smelly when we arrived and our room was small with a grotty shower room and rickety cheap furniture suitable for a spare room not a hotel (i.e it was falling apart). We decided to just go home and drive to function, and were not particularly worried about getting our money back. Nice woman in reception offered us free upgrade to Jacuzzi room. This room was just about OK so we stayed. The jacuzzi took nearly an hour to fill and looking at it I decided not to switch it on as I was worried about electrocution! The whole place is falling apart. Anyway as a straight room it wasn't too bad (on a student's bedsit level). The breakfast was as you would expect and not too bad for a fry up. Only book this hotel if they offer you a very good deal or you need this specific location. Otherwsie go anywhere else. I am surprised it is still in business as nobody is investing in this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BingoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Todmorden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having booked a room with a jacuzzi we were looking forward to taking full advantage of this facility but unfortunately it was a let down. The entirety of our stay in this hotel was much of a let down. When we arrived there was no television in our room as stated, so we had to go and ask for a TV which had been removed because there was no remote. The jacuzzi had some problems such as the lights which did not work. For this we were offered a refund which was great, but this amounted to a measly £4. The jacuzzi was dirty and there were hairs in the tub which put us off using it completely. The room was far too hot so none of us had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was possibly the worst full English I've ever had. The rooms were dated, dull and rather depressing. The service was average and we witnessed a bust up with the reception and some other guests who had not been booked into the hotel correctly and whilst this was occurring we were left to stand and wait to be served for 10 minutes. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi sounds lovely but the reality of it is far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 167amyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Mediocre service, would benefit from uniforms, not wearing trainers. Breakfast I'd score 5/10. Beds are comfortable just to hot in the rooms. Had a room with a jacuzzi and encountered a few safety problems.

Personally I would only recommend this hotel as a one night stop.

Overall rating for hotel 13/20

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I would not go back to this Hotel even if it was free. It was old, dated and in need of upgrading. The carpets need cleaning or changing. We had no hot water during our stay. The bedroom was small, very basic, no TV, the light switch didn't look to safe, and the toilet didn't always flush. Some of the staff looked scruffy and could have done with smarter uniforms. I don't think it should be rated a 3* star hotel.

On the plus side breakfast was ok and the two girls serving us were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogibear323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Leicester for the week due to work. My initial thoughts of StoneyCroft were proven correct!
We ordered single occupancy room which comes literally with single bed and just enough space to squeeze past the bed to get to the toilet! Curtains were tied in a knot rather than attach the curtain ties to the walls!! Room 6. Paint was chipping off the walls! I pulled the flush and the whole thing started to shake and make a VERY loud buzzing noise!

Also no lift or help with heavy luggage! Took my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs with no offer for a hand! Though I was quite clearly struggling.

Extremely creaky floors! The stairs are likely to fall through at any time and I am surprised the banisters haven't already fallen off!! Can hear every single footstep around the building!

I asked to move rooms as mine was hideous, I moved into 'The Honeymoon Suit'. Which I should have expected less of as it was only £10 per night extra than the single room!! Stains and dirt all over the walls,and down behind the bed. Tiniest 9inch old school television! Which does have a digital box however signal was awful so was limited to few channels! Toilet flush was fine however the seat came off as soon as I lifted it up. Shower was good and powerful! Nice enough bathroom area!

Free wifi- if you're lucky enough to be able to connect!! Again- poor signal!

Staff were lovely! (Two young Indian girls) absolutely lovely and tried their best to correct issues and were very friendly!
Also an older woman in reception who wasn't too friendly, very abrupt and short patience!!

Breakfast was pretty good! Help your self to cereal and juice and able to order full English breakfast all inclusive of the nightly cost!

Also restaurant within... Standard English food, nice area with large tv and bar. Reasonable prices. Small menu!

Little improvements could easily be made to make this hotel a nicer place!! Ie/ Repaint walls, take more pride, Re-carpet throughout, get a few decent televisions and invest in decent curtains!! These are old, smelly and dated! Also look into food tips and presentation!!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel! It's not a great place to come back to after a long day at work!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shakira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got back from my trip to Leicester which i stayed two nights in this hotel.When i pulled up to the hotel i noticed that the stone work outside was falling off in places.Inside was worse.
This place needs knocking down and rebuilt.The interior is old and needs updating in every way.
We got up to our room and was even more disappointed. The wallpaper was coming off in places and looked like it had been doner in the 60s.We had no tv,no cold water and the heating was on full belt.There did send somebody up to sort out the cold tap and also gave us a very small tv.The staff were very friendly and did help.Also the flow of the shower was terrible it just trickled out and took ages to get showered.The breakfast was ok and filled a space ready for the day.I did ask for the heating to be turned off at night but they said it was on a timer so we all couldnt get to sleep because of the heat.This place isnt the cheapest to stay as we stayed at another hotel last night down the road which was cheaper and much better.I could go on but all i can say is i will never be going back there untill the place gets a massive make over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#37 of 41 in Leicester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#31 of 41 in Leicester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#24 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneycroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneycroft Hotel

Property: Stoneycroft Hotel
Address: 5-7 Elmfield Avenue, Leicester LE2 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoneycroft Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoneycroft Hotel is a privately run establishment, only a few minutes walk from the City Centre, and the world famous De Montfort Hall. Both of Leicester's University's, and the Railway Station, are within walking distance, yet situated in a peaceful Avenue off the main A6 London road.At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel offers you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings. The Hotel comprises of 40 bedrooms of varying sizes, fully central heated, with colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, clock radios and direct dial telephones in every room. All of the rooms have full en-suite facilities either bath or shower and toilet, with some located on the ground floor for those of us who are less agile than we'd like to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoneycroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneycroft Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing