We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, awful food”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed in superior room 16 and had a lovely room with a beautiful four poster bed, although the bathroom had seen better days, it was worth the £75 we paid although not much more. The reception staff were helpful but seemed a bit downtrodden when we complained about the food as if they get complaints a lot. However, there was quite a lot of loud swearing outside our window late at night when the staff were leaving and the meal we had was horrible. I had battered halloumi to start which was a tiny sliver of cheese with thick greasy batter that collected on the plate. I then had the vegetable and cashew risotto which was lukewarm (at best), had two cashews in it, and was topped with wilting, off rocket. My boyfriend had an 8oz steak, although I would dispute it was actually that much. It came with a tiny portion of chips and peas like you would expect on a children's meal. We complained to the waitress and she said she would talk to the chefs but didn't come back and apologise or give us any money off our bill. We then complained on checkout and were told again that the chefs would be spoken to but were given 50% off our meal bill when I said that was pointless as I would still be paying £9 for an awful risotto. Kept seeing the chefs go outside for smoke breaks, maybe if they spent more time actually in the kitchen the food would improve. In summary, stay in the hotel but DO NOT EAT HERE.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed our bedrooms, in particular our four-poster bed. I will be speaking to our kitchen team regarding the food during your visit, the team be working hard in the future to improve our communication all around. We do hope to see you again in the future here at the Fieldhead hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 539 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Spent a lovely afternoon at the wedding fayre at the Fieldhead,it was very well organised despite the fact that the co-ordinator had failed to turn up but the hotel manager had done a brilliant job and there was plenty to see with a very friendly atmosphere. The staff were on the ball and knew what they were doing. What a delight!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cairngormangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Many thanks for leaving such a great review, you compliments have been passed onto the team and help validate what we do as a unit. The wedding fayre was a great success and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here. The staff were friendly and approachable, and nothing was too much trouble. The manager was particularly helpful. Enjoyed the food in the restaurant. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne281280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, we are overjoyed to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay; it’s great to know you will be visiting again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Quick stop over sa us checked into the Fieldhead for the evening. Didn't try the evening menu but breakfast was pretty decent. Room clean if not a little dated but nice to have so much room. Best part of our stay was the staff - very hospitable. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillonc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, in particular the great comments regarding our team, they are central to everything we are trying to achieve here at the Fieldhead.We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently spent a night at the Fieldhead hotel and found it to be a little gem <3

It's lovely location and upon arrival we we're greeted by a very friendly receptionist with long dark hair, she couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome straight away.. We checked into our ground floor room, and found it was very old English traditional and cosy... The beds were really comfy and we felt very at home!!

The staff in the bar/restaurant we're equally fantastic, and after a small mishap with the food the chef got us a complementary drink and resolved the situation... Very professional :) ....

The waitress 'Jodi' in particular was great, very attentive and friendly :)

We really enjoyed our little night away. And would recommend this little gem to anyone who wants a home away from home <3

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jolea_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

We really appreciate your valuable feedback, I’m glad to hear the bedrooms were to your liking, in particular our Old English décor. We do hope to welcome you back again to the Fieldhead in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have previously had bad experiences with hotels that are attached to pubs and restaurants as the availability of staff tends to be affected by the opening hours and demand in the pub or restaurant. The Fieldhead has restored my faith, as the reception is well attended, open at all hours, and when the staff are elsewhere in the building they are very quick to respond to calls and return to base. Check in, Room Service and all the services offered are delivered by warm, friendly individuals who are keen to make the stay as easy as possible.

The room itself was well equipped and a decent size, and there is a good range of food available throughout the day.

The hotel advertises itself as pet friendly, and there were absolutely no issues with our two dogs. There is also plenty of space to "exercise" the dogs in the grounds of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback, your great comments have been passed onto the team. We are glad you found your stay so enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back to the Fieldhead hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Reading some of the reviews made us a little nervous about booking our Civil Ceremony reception here, family and friends were coming from far and wide; but we were working to a bit of a tight budget as we wanted The Maldives Honeymoon more than a 'flash expensive venue!'
The new Manager, Michael Butler, after a bit of an uneasy start (I speak my mind you see!!) was very obliging and even changed his day off to run the order of ceremony on the day (27th February 2014) There were a couple of very minor issues, which didn't really spoil our day, and he more than made up for this by not charging for a couple of 'extras' we ordered....and a complimentary room too!! Michael was a real credit to the place and really tried incredibly hard. he contended with new staff, some who were not very experienced but he did a sterling job keeping it all together!! Sorry to say the new wedding co-ordinator wasn't brilliant - Michael did a much better job, and gave the impression he really cared - that counts for a lot!!
If you're looking for a reception (or full ceremony) then we don't think you can beat the value....it's the best locally!!! The food was good, the service overall was good, atmosphere good; although the place is definitely ready for a full refurb (having said that the rooms were clean and VERY good!) as the downstairs looked very tired - but then it is a busy place - so invest the money Green king!!!
Overall very pleased, and we'll definitely be popping back regularly for coffee and cake, again bargain at £2.95 each!!
Well done Michael - a credit to the Hospitality Industry!

Room Tip: Room 28, at the back, quiet and very comfortable....although careful not to trip over the linen in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrowLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for the great comments regarding your civil partnership here at the hotel. We are glad to have been a part of your special day and your kind words have been passed on to the team. We hope you enjoy your honeymoon, and we look forward to your next visit here at the Fieldhead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
6.8 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
6.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,625 reviews
8.2 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $78 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing