We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay spoiled by yapping dog”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We use this hotel often but on this stay some inconsiderate customer booked in to the room next to ours with a yapping dog .The dog barked for an hour or more when the owners went to dinner. Surely a hotel does not need to cater for dogs it felt like trying to sleep in a kennel. Why can people not put pets into proper kennels when on holiday we do! . Remember if you sleep with dogs you will get fleas and no ordinary clean will remove the fleas these animals could fetch in disgusting practice. If the hotel wants dogs build them a kennel way out back and keep them away from paying customers who do not want to share with animals . However the food is great here and we would use it again however if a dog is there we will not be.

Room Tip: Choose a room well away from dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We are grateful for your feedback thank you and for taking the time to comment. I will ensure this does not happen again. I’m sorry you had a disturbed night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 513 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a B&B basis through Booking.com, the booking details stated we would have a bright room with a seating area etc etc. We did have a bright room with a seating area but nothing to sit on as there were no comfortable chairs in the room only 1 chair at the desk. We did mention this to the young blonde lady on Reception and she told us only superior rooms have a seating area? but she said she would arrange to put chairs in the room, however when we came back later there were still no chairs so we ended up sitting on the bed all through our stay which was not very comfortable and not ideal for relaxing especially as there was not many comfortable chairs in the bar area either. Some parts of the hotel are looking a bit scruffy and the furniture is all a bit of a mismatch, the tables in particular need some TLC . The food and drinks in the bar and restaurant were reasonable and they had some meal deals with drinks included. The food was quite good but sometimes the meals and particularly the chips always seemed to be a little bit on the lukewarm side and not particularly hot but maybe we were just unlucky. The tables would have been much more pleasant to sit at if there was maybe some place mats as they looked a bit worse for wear in some places and very bare. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would have given top marks if these little niggles were sorted.The staff were always smiling and pleasant and we would recommend it to anyone planning to visit the area.

Room Tip: book a superior room if you want chairs for the seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Many thanks for you feedback; I am sorry that we did not meet your needs throughout your stay. We will ensure this doesn’t happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English inn in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

3rd time we have stayed for the weekend at the fieldhead and we love it especially the theme nights on fridays, the breakfasts are lovely so much to choose from and excellent service as always we will definitily be back for another stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Looking for a good value old English inn the Fieldhead at Markfield is close to the M1 just off the A5111 and is a very cosy and offers the similar comfort to a Premier Inn but at £45 for B&B provided better atmosphere and better food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wingraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments regarding our Hotel. I am glad that you found our Old English Inn to be very comfortable and very good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clever design in local stone to blend in with old original farmhouse. Internal layout
creates comfort and good atmosphere in bar and dining areas which are separated into a number of small areas. A bit scruffy in places and the stained chairs should be replaced. Hotel generally very clean. Free Wifi awkward.
Good sized carpark and bus stop (30 min. to Leicester) 200 yds away.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are fine with coffee making. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed 2 nights midweek. Rooms a lot cheaper at weekend.
The breakfast and evening meals with wine were fine. Nothing outstanding but good value.
A real plus point for this hotel was that the staff were all local, very pleasant and extremely helpful. We are retired and have stayed in many hotels. I would definitely stay in this one again

Room Tip: Rooms lot cheaper at weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TauntonPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will increase our efforts to improve the general standards of the hotel standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night with work and was the perfect location for my meeting, very handy off the M1.

Although the hotel and room were a little tired, you shouldn't let this put you off if the location is spot on for you. The staff were really friendly and welcoming in both the hotel and restaurant. I did also get a great night's sleep as the bed was big and comfortable. Lovely and quiet at night too!

It probably could do with a good clean as a bit grubby in places! And I did find the price I paid a little steep for what I got, especially as when I checked on the day, they were offering rooms for £40 cheaper than I'd paid!

But worth a look if you're after something in the Leicester area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and had a good night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very welcoming....the double room was fine....unfortunately we had a problem neighbour who was a very, very noisy "sleeper"....spoke to reception and although hotel looked full they sorted out a room in another part of the hotel for us wuthin 20 minutes......we got an excellent night's quiet and restful sleep....the breakfast was excellent---mine a full English and my wife's was Egg Benedict.....Just 7 miles from Leicester so recommend if visiting / passing through.....Mark

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am happy that we were able to help you swap rooms and I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
5.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Charnwood Arms
Charnwood Arms
#1 of 2 in Coalville
165 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $82 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing