We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel staff were pleasant and very friendly when we arrived and check in was prompt.
The room was very clean, with a large wardrobe and plenty of coat hangers, a desk, a hairdryer and plenty of refreshments and biscuits. The bathroom was very clean if a little tired, peeling paint above the shower over the bath. There was a standard size double bed.
While we were unpacking there were very strange, loud noises coming from beneath our room as well as what sounded like doors frequently banging. The noise, similar to a vacuum switching on and off, as well as the banging doors continued all the time we were in our room .
We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant and found it to be very welcoming with a pleasant ambience.
There was an extensive menu and we both decided on steak, cooked rare but they were both overcooked, Nonetheless, overall the evening was very enjoyable.
When we were about to retire we asked at reception if the noise below our room would stop during the night only to be told it would not as it was an electric pump in the mens toilets which were directly below our room. We therefore asked to move to an alternative room and the gentleman on reception was very helpful, most apologetic and gave us the key to another room without hesitation. The second room was much larger, had a huge bed, and a larger, more modern bathroom which was also spotlessly clean.
The bed was amazingly comfortable . The room was very warm but we were able to open a window and even though the room was situated above the outside courtyard and seating area we did not encounter any noise or smell of smoke.
Breakfast was served until midday although we were informed when we checked in that the continental breakfast would be cleared away by 10 am.
We arrived around 10 am and were pleasantly surprised to find there was an excellent contintental breakfast bar still available to us.The waitress was very efficient, friendly and helpful.
There was also an excellent breakfast menu available. My husband ordered the Full English and I the toasted ciabatta with ham, cheese and poached egg which was delicious.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room No 18 if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. We do strive to give excellent service every time so we look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English Inn in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    155
    73
    57
    50
See reviews for
87
237
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route for Yorkshire. The twin room was clean & spacious on the ground floor away from the traffic noise (Room 10). We ate in the restaurant which was open until 10pm the food was good with lots of choice. More like pub food than gourmet but reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent. Great value overnight stay with everything that we required.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anngp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy that you liked your room and breakfast experience. We try to give excellent service every time and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently had our second visit to this hotel and found it just as inviting as the first visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful and treated you as a valued customer taking time out to have a chat to you. Meals were exceptional and good value. Breakfast was more that expected and high quality. Will definitely stay again. Rooms were spacious and of good clean standard. Well worth a weekend getaway

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your weekend stay with us at the Field Head Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that our high standards are matched with the cleanliness and standards of service. Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction of our valuable staff members and we all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Me and my other half tied the not at the fieldhead hotel on the 6th of april 2013. I can not begin to describe how pleased i am with ALL the staff and the service we had received, the day before, the day of, and the day after our wedding. We had help to plan our wedding over the months and the entire day was faultless. The food was incredible and the breakfast the next morning went down a treat.

Not one of our guests left disappointed and some didn't want to leave, including ourselves. The rooms we had the night before were immaculate and the bridal suit was perfect for the number of people i had to get in on the morning of the wedding. Was worth every penny and we still paid less that we expected.

We will definitely be going back soon!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 28, 6, 5, 7 and can not fault any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKEGNESS
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights commencing 9th April 2013 on bed and breakfast basis. We found the staff to be very professional and friendly going the extra mile for the hotels residents.

Our room (no. 7 on the ground floor) was extremly comfortable and well furnished with an excellent ensuite bathroom, all cleaned to a very high standard.

Breakfast was exceptional served by a very friendly smiley face.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOLLYJACK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. We do strive to give excellent service ever time so we look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here on a bargain overnight break and it was great. The hotel is very pretty on the outside and room 20 was more than adequate. Although there was a slight smell, I would only assume this to be expected especially with the age and character of the building and if it had not been occupied on the days before we arrived. We soon cleared this by opening a window to air the room. The bar staff were very friendly and welcoming, especially Sam. We did eat from the main menu and this was good. Others were having the £9.95 meals for two and they looked like very good value. Breakfast was super and the staff were very attentive. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCKCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Were to start...... On arrival our first impressions was good it went down hill on entering the hotel. The reception area was adequate and served its purpose. The receptionist was helpful and friendly and explained were our room was. On our walk to the room my partner and I thought the place smelt and looked like an old people's home.
The room itself was spotless clean but tired looking, the bed was massive. The en suite was again to a average standard. Once we had sorted our selfs we went down to the bar/restaurant area and this is really were we was disappointed because the photos on there own website site gave the impression that the bar area was old and quaint when in fact it was totally opperset. The whole area was open planned, my partner and I felt it would of been better with some private places to sit and just able to have a drink and chat. The bar staff we couldn't fault they was helpful and friendly all the time.
The evening meal was ok and the food was again average as with the service.
Back to our room at the end of the night we both agree we slept really well in fact.
We went down to breakfast and was hugely disappointed the chef was signing at the top of his voice, if he put as much effort into his cooking as he did with his signing then the breakfast would of been to a better standard instead the beans was cold unappealing the bacon was more raw then cooked the egg was below standard and so was the lonely mushroom the only good thing about the breakfast was getting up and leaving.
We both agree that the lower price we paid for the room and the breakfast was still over price if we had to pay the full price we would of asked for a full refund and gone some were else. We will not be going back any time soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are pleased that the team made you feel welcome. We do strive to give excellent service ever time so we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.2 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
642 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
355 reviews
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#17 of 40 in Leicester
508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
4.0 mi away
Charnwood Arms
Charnwood Arms
#2 of 2 in Coalville
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing