We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed couple.”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Were to start...... On arrival our first impressions was good it went down hill on entering the hotel. The reception area was adequate and served its purpose. The receptionist was helpful and friendly and explained were our room was. On our walk to the room my partner and I thought the place smelt and looked like an old people's home.
The room itself was spotless clean but tired looking, the bed was massive. The en suite was again to a average standard. Once we had sorted our selfs we went down to the bar/restaurant area and this is really were we was disappointed because the photos on there own website site gave the impression that the bar area was old and quaint when in fact it was totally opperset. The whole area was open planned, my partner and I felt it would of been better with some private places to sit and just able to have a drink and chat. The bar staff we couldn't fault they was helpful and friendly all the time.
The evening meal was ok and the food was again average as with the service.
Back to our room at the end of the night we both agree we slept really well in fact.
We went down to breakfast and was hugely disappointed the chef was signing at the top of his voice, if he put as much effort into his cooking as he did with his signing then the breakfast would of been to a better standard instead the beans was cold unappealing the bacon was more raw then cooked the egg was below standard and so was the lonely mushroom the only good thing about the breakfast was getting up and leaving.
We both agree that the lower price we paid for the room and the breakfast was still over price if we had to pay the full price we would of asked for a full refund and gone some were else. We will not be going back any time soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are pleased that the team made you feel welcome. We do strive to give excellent service ever time so we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 513 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here on 28th march and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the room to be large and clean with a huge and very comfortable bed! We had a meal, rump steak and a bottle of wine as part of a deal which was very good and at a very good price. The breakfast next morning did not let it down either as it was very good as well, just what we needed before a long car journey. The hotel was a bit worn in places but at the price we paid it was extremely good value for money and well worth staying there.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had lunch there as a last minute thing and was pleasantly surprised. The prices were reasonable and the food very good. We only ate in the restaurant and even though a wedding party was due, the food was served in a reasonable time and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Field Head Hotel. We appreciate and value all feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

cosy little place nice rooms good food great location what more can I say. it's a hotel pub restaurant and you can even get married there! well recommended better than the bigger places locally and cheaper I'd guess

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nath-of-loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write these comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed your experience here with us during your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed in room 20 which was spacious and clean with a king size bed. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed the stay so much booked again for April. Hope to get room 20 again. Breakfast was more than adequate. Evening meals had an extensive choice. Strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank michandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the moment i arrived i was treated as you would expect. Staff were polite and cheerful and most of all very very helpful. Was given my room and decided to shower before i ate. But found there was a problem with the shower, went back to bar area duty manager came had a look and very quickly relocated me to a new room. And this was the standard of customer service you can expect at this hotel.No messing about.,
The room was warm and comfortable, nice king-size bed, linen looked like new bathroom clean. Only down side was the ceiling in room 20 it could do with a repaint. But that's me being picky.
The food from breakfast to evening meal during my 3 night stay i found was excellent and well priced no complaints at all. Served quickly and always with a smile and a check back.

Thank you very much for a near perfect stay.............

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik1966_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are pleased that the team made you feel welcome. We do strive to give excellent service ever time so we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived at 9pm on a Sunday evening and though reception wasn't manned a call soon had a staff member come through from the bar. We were shown to Room 4 which had a nice comfortable king sized bed. Room was warm. It backed onto the courtyard and there was some minor noise from a couple of smokers, but not a problem. Slept well. Shower was very good.
Breakfast was excellent and waitress was very attentive.
Would happily stay again.
Great value for the £50 we paid.
Although situated very close to a main road it wasn't apparent.

Room Tip: Would certainly choose Room 4 again for the King sized bed and excellent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your night stay on Sunday, and thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are pleased that the breakfast team made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
5.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Charnwood Arms
Charnwood Arms
#1 of 2 in Coalville
165 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $82 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing