We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel overnight but have been there for a meal twice in four days. On each occasion the food was tasty, hot, and there was plenty of it. The prices were very reasonable and we got a £5 voucher off our next meal.
The service was good and there is a fairly extensive choice with extra "specials" on the board.
The restaurant is comfortable and warm. Staff and friendly, helpful and efficient.
It is not always easy to find however. Although it is easy to see from the main road, to actuially get into the car park you have to drive past and turn back on yourself. However, this is only a small point but worth a mention to warn people to look out for the turnoff. I guess it would be even more difficult to find the entrance in the dark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed meals, and we’re happy that your expectations were exceeded and that you have experienced our high standard that we pride ourselves on. I am pleased that our team made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    151
    68
    53
    48
See reviews for
81
229
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed overnight on 8th February and had an excellent experience. The staff were all so jolly and helpful which added to our enjoyment. The double room was everything it should be, clean, well provided with flat screen TV and full tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom likewise was well presented and the linen was like new.
The drinks and food were all very reasonable and most enjoyable and to top it all it was inexpensive.
A real treat to stay there. It is our 2nd visit in 12 months and will certainly use it when ever we are in the area.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosnehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your expectations were exceeded. I am pleased that our team made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this hotel only one day in advance as my husband was in Glenfield hospital for an operation. The room was very comfortable and the staff friendly. Enjoyed the evening meal and the breakfast was very acceptable. Would like to stay here again on a happier occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela_M07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your expectations were exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English Inn, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
231 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

booked this at the last minute for a weekend break through an offer Old English Inns. We were looking for a break somewhere different that was not too expensive. This hotel gave us that and a bit more. The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and the room was of a good standard, it was clean tidy and comfortable. The bar and restuarent area was well provided for and the staff again were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were plentyful and of a good quality. Our stay coincided with a tribute night that was also there to support a number of christmas parties, the act cost nothing and was very good, as a resident we did not need to worry about a table and so we were able to enjoy a good meal with decent entertainment in a party atomsphere. I gather they regularly have entertainment at the hotel so if thats your thing it may help to check whats on before you book. The village of markfield was small with not much to offer, although Leicester is only a few miles away. The hotel is also good for the M1 only a couple of miles. All in all the hotel was good as were the meals and the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your expectations were exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English Inn, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

A last minute booking due to snow led to a surprisingly pleasant stay at the Fieldhead Hotel. The hotel has character, the room we stopped in was unremarkable but clean and had everything we needed. The meal was brilliant value and the bar area warm and inviting. The mainly young staff were friendly and professional. Well worth a visit,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyKally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on the Fieldhead Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your expectations were exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English Inn, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from here and am disappointed. The girl on reception was completely lost and abrupt when asked any questions. The room had just been cleaned but stank of damp rotten cloths in particular in the bathroom. The bed springs on one side were broken, when exception were told they said oh dear, we must look into that..very unhelpful.
Overall a bad experience bar the breakfast which was of good quality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slaird_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We would like to thank you for your feedback on the Fieldhead Hotel. We apologise that on this occasion you were disappointed with the comfort of your room, this is not the usual high standard of service that we pride ourselves on. We do strive to give the very best customer service possible but it seems that we have let you down this time. We do hope that you will come back and try us out again. We are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Field head hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

visited here for the first time today, lovely pub very cosy with nice fire. main course arrived which was nice & orderd the sharinv pudding, i was really looking forward to it. but it took 40 mins & nothing arrived, as we had to leave i had to go to the bar to ask for my money back. ruined what would have been a lovely lunch. wont return now.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biscuit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We would like to thank you for your feedback on the Fieldhead Hotel. We apologise that on this occasion you were disappointed with parts of your stay, this is not the usual high standard of service that we pride ourselves on. We do strive to give the very best customer service possible. We do hope that you will come back and try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.1 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
6.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
7.5 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing