We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fieldhead Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Charnwood Arms(Coalville)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rothley Court(Rothley)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winstanley House(Leicester)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Link Hotel(Loughborough)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
189
167
77
60
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
167
77
60
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsbradgate parkfour poster bedlamb shankpub foodfish and chipsfull englishlovely roompowerful showerfirst morningweekend breakduty managersaturday nightbreakfast was excellentcooked breakfastdouble roomone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 545 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

booked this at the last minute for a weekend break through an offer Old English Inns. We were looking for a break somewhere different that was not too expensive. This hotel gave us that and a bit more. The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and the room was of a good standard, it was clean tidy and comfortable. The bar and restuarent area was well provided for and the staff again were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were plentyful and of a good quality. Our stay coincided with a tribute night that was also there to support a number of christmas parties, the act cost nothing and was very good, as a resident we did not need to worry about a table and so we were able to enjoy a good meal with decent entertainment in a party atomsphere. I gather they regularly have entertainment at the hotel so if thats your thing it may help to check whats on before you book. The village of markfield was small with not much to offer, although Leicester is only a few miles away. The hotel is also good for the M1 only a couple of miles. All in all the hotel was good as were the meals and the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your expectations were exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English Inn, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A last minute booking due to snow led to a surprisingly pleasant stay at the Fieldhead Hotel. The hotel has character, the room we stopped in was unremarkable but clean and had everything we needed. The meal was brilliant value and the bar area warm and inviting. The mainly young staff were friendly and professional. Well worth a visit,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyKally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback on the Fieldhead Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your expectations were exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English Inn, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from here and am disappointed. The girl on reception was completely lost and abrupt when asked any questions. The room had just been cleaned but stank of damp rotten cloths in particular in the bathroom. The bed springs on one side were broken, when exception were told they said oh dear, we must look into that..very unhelpful.
Overall a bad experience bar the breakfast which was of good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slaird_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We would like to thank you for your feedback on the Fieldhead Hotel. We apologise that on this occasion you were disappointed with the comfort of your room, this is not the usual high standard of service that we pride ourselves on. We do strive to give the very best customer service possible but it seems that we have let you down this time. We do hope that you will come back and try us out again. We are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Field head hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

visited here for the first time today, lovely pub very cosy with nice fire. main course arrived which was nice & orderd the sharinv pudding, i was really looking forward to it. but it took 40 mins & nothing arrived, as we had to leave i had to go to the bar to ask for my money back. ruined what would have been a lovely lunch. wont return now.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biscuit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We would like to thank you for your feedback on the Fieldhead Hotel. We apologise that on this occasion you were disappointed with parts of your stay, this is not the usual high standard of service that we pride ourselves on. We do strive to give the very best customer service possible. We do hope that you will come back and try us out again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Our office Christmas party last night. You expect to pay a premium at Christmas but do not expect such shocking service.

Pre booked the wine but it wasn't on the table (in case it got stolen apparently!). It didn't turn up with the starter so we asked, and then waited, and then waited, by which time most had eaten half their main course. No glasses though so asked and waited again so asked to speak to manager who said she had been asking for more glasses and "the truth is we just don't have enough"?!

Some starters didn't have the bread with them as ordered.

Cutlery was not automatically replaced after stater or main course or sweet, again we had to wait and wait each time and each time was plonked en masse in the centre of the table next to the big pile of paper serviettes.

Table layout was cramped, chairs were literally touching and every 3rd person had a table leg to contend with.

Food average.

We're given 2 bottles of wine (for 27 people - that's less than half a glass each) as an apology but another smaller table got the same because they were not happy with their table layout.

I would not recommend you book this for your office Christmas party.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Easyasqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

We would like to thank you for your feedback on the Fieldhead Hotel. We apologise that on this occasion you were disappointed with your Christmas meal, this is not our usual high standard of service that we pride ourselves on. We do strive to give the very best customer service possible but it seems that we have let you down this time. We do hope that you will come back and try us out again. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Field head hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews