We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leicester's number one restaurant!”
Review of The White Peacock

The White Peacock
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Peacock is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,169 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $58
Cuisines: European, International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leicester's number one restaurant!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is undoubtedly the best restaurant in Leicester. We have visited four or five times since it's opening and have received faultless food and service each time. It is clear that the staff care about what they are doing. Most recently we celebrated a special birthday and New Year's Eve as we knew we would have fantastic nights. The birthday meal was planned to perfection and there were many additional surprise touches to the evening. New Years Eve had a great atmosphere with a fantastic 8 course menu. We have sampled the regular menu as well as the tasting menu and both are full of amazing dishes. The White Peacock offers fine dining at affordable prices and we cannot recommend it highly enough. If you are looking for a new restaurant for 2014 you should make it The White Peacock!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diego947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    85
    39
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Post Christmas Dinner”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our daughter booked a table for 4 and a baby as a Thank You for Christmas.When we arrived the staff were not very happy that there was a baby.Our daughter had booked a highchair at the time of the reservation and the restaurant had not said anything or got back regarding the baby. We were disappointed that they didn't want families with children.
They food was average, my starter was rather tasteless but the main course was very good.The description of the dessert was very tempting but it was just a Bakewell tart with a fancy name.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing new restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute for dinner and cannot express how fabulous this new restaurant is. From the minute you arrive at the door the service is impeccable, front of house staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble for them.

The bar is lovely with a good, very reasonably priced wine selection and a few cocktails too.

The food is just fantastic, the menu has around 6 options for each course, there was just the 2 of us however we were equally impressed by our choices for all 3 courses.

Best goats cheese tart I have ever tasted and I've had many! Followed by blade of beef that simply fell apart as soon as I touched it. The tonka bean creme brûlée was outstanding!

Our table was in a fantastic position, only gripe was it was slightly too cold for me right under the air con, as soon as we mentioned this it was rectified immediately.

This most definitely our new favourite place to eat in the area.

Helpful?
Thank debdazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Late cancellation for NYE”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I feel obliged to write a review similar to that of the review below. We reserved a table here for NYE and got a phone call yesterday cancelling the reservation as they have overbooked, leaving us no time to book another venue as everything is fully booked! Really appalling and disappointing service, with no offer of any compensation. I would not recommend this venue to anyone especially for special occasions as you could receive a last minute call cancelling your booking!

Helpful?
2 Thank Shivvy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“brilliant new restaurant”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Gorgeous good, really friendly and professional staff and beautifully decorated. My new #1 in Leicester.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry_Merguine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Peacock also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
 

Been to The White Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing