We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place outclasses everywhere in Leicester!”
Review of The White Peacock

The White Peacock
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Peacock is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 1,170 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $59
Cuisines: European, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This place outclasses everywhere in Leicester!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had the eight course taster menu - it was perfect, everything was beautifully prepared, presented, and the taste, well we were unable to fault anything. And considering the quality of the food, the value was great.
From arrival the staff were fantastic, going the extra way to ensure a pleasant trip.
We will certainly be going back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    85
    39
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & superb service!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Seriously talented chef & front of house, bar & waiting staff served to make our work Christmas party one that will be talked about for years! Delicious food, wonderful cocktails and cosy surroundings - I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastMidsGirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Culinary Jewel in the Midlands”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Leicester has a great reputation for Asian cuisine,but now has an alternative for foodies.Chef Phil Sharpe put Maiyango on the map and now has worked his magic at the White Peacock.Top class cuisine with reasonably priced wines and very professional service.I wish this venue the best of luck!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wenceslas51186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a light lunch with my sister, we shared ploughmans, which was excellent, great ham hock and my mum loved the coffee and hand made truffles! Looking forward to the taster menu and will be back at lunch too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jokar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great addition to the Leicester scene”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The opening of the White Peacock was something of an event, as it is run by chef Phillip and maître d' Charlotte, both latterly of Maiyango. We were absolutely not disappointed! Our welcome was warm and friendly, of course. The menu was very interesting but also with a comfortable familiarity, including some of Phillip's signature dishes, such as the blade of beef, which we both love.

We thoroughly enjoyed a couple of drinks at the spacious and comfortable bar, before eating in the beautifully decorated dining room, including a captivating picture of a white peacock. The food was delicious, the service from the wonderful Stephan was super, and the meal was a great success. We are looking forward to coming back frequently.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Peacock also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
 

Been to The White Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing