We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable stay in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good hotel at a reasonable price and good value for money. Hotel is well located for both the stadium and City. Rooms are clean and well appointed, Breakfast was limited in choice but plentiful. l will stay here again next time in Leicester.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Peter C

We are very happy to hear that you will be staying with us again and that we can be of service to you.
Thank you for the time taken to post a review and for your custom on this occasion.

I will be sharing your comments with the team who are the ones that work hard to make all this happen.
Thanks again.

Regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 521 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nice clean, comfortable room, with friendly staff. Stayed here to attend a friends wedding, had never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before, but wouldn't hesitate to stay in this one again. Breakfast was more than adequate, and very tasty, with plenty to suit all tastes. Was impressed with the room I stayed in , very clean. The blackout curtains were great too. The only niggle i had was with the air conditioning which wouldn't go below 19c, which meant that it was a very hot room, even with the window open. More milk in the room for tea and coffee's would have been welcome too. But overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U8865HQjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear U8865HQjulies

I am delighted to hear that our friendly staff and comfortable facilities have resulted in you having a great stay. Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation on this occasion and we look forward to being of service again in the very near future.
Thank you for the review and for the rest of the feedback, it is certainly helpful.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

As the title, good affordable place to stay, slightly strange location but overall a very pleasant stay.
Rooms are clean, tidy and quiet. Breakfast is basic but is included in the price so can't complain. Some what small but comfortable beds.
The Spur restaurant provides great meals at reasonable prices, nice friendly staff.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottDebs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear ScottDebs_13

Thank you for your review and for your custom, I will be sharing your comments with the team here that make all this possible.
We are very happy to have SPUR as neighbour and as you have found they do serve up a great plate of food.
We look forward to welcoming you back real soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

An above average express hotel close to the city centre with complimentary parking AND breakfast included in the room rate.

Parking is secure on hotel site and breakfast is decent enough to start the day with plenty of continental and cooked variety.

Rooms are clean, spacious and modern with tea/coffee making facilities, ambient lighting and digital television.

Overall, a good offering of services for the amount you pay. Would recommend and stay here if our travels bring us back to Leicester.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-Neeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear G-Neeus

It is great to see you appreciated the hotel and our offering. We do agree with you that the location is great and very accessible to the major routes in and out of Leicester but also being very close to the City Centre as well.
I will share you kind review with the team here and we all look forward to seeing you very soon in the near future.
Thank you again for your custom and your review.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Clean room ,staff polite . Value for money would stay again was right next to stadium and that's where I was going so suited us ,my daughter an I where there to watch one direction playing in a charity football match a lot of celebrities there . Breakfast wasn't up to much but least there was something to eat . About 10- 15 mins away from town would be a lovely walk if weather was nice . Would stay again if going to stadium as just over the road .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Jacqueline B

Thank you for your review and your custom on this occasion.
I trust the football match lived up to your expectations and a good time was had by all. We are certainly the most convenient for events at the stadium and keep an eye out for more in the future.
I will share your comments with the team who will be delighted to receive your positive feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I always get a little concerned when the sat nag has difficulty finding a hotel, and this was the case with this hotel. It really is in a strange place in Leicester, wedged between the local town's football stadium, a river and a lot of electricity plions, so the views are not great.

The other complicating factor was that the stadium is no longer called 'Walker's Stadium, as the sponsorship has changed, and it is now known as 'King Power' Stadium.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, with a friendly and welcoming staff who were always keen to please.

As usual with the holiday Inn Express Brand, the breakfast is somewhat limiting - still no bacon.

The area is limited in terms of choice for restaurants - with a Spur Steakhouse beside the hotel, that offers daily specials.

Room Tip: No view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Tamnamore

Thank you for your review and for choosing us as your choice of accommodation on this occasion.
I am happy to hear that our team has added to your stay and I will be sharing your comments with them.
The Spur steak and grill does serve very good food though and so there is no need to venture out really but we do have an array of eateries very close to us.
Thank you for your feedback on the directions,, we will review and see if there is a way to make finding the hotel a little simpler.
Thank you again for your review and your custom and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Im not a fan of HI Express. It is dificult to write an individual review as most HI Express are photocopies of another one.

The location of this one is a little out of the centre of town and seems fairly isolated, looking out of your hotel window there seems to be nothing around the area except the stadium and a car dealership.

The hotel staff are fairly friendly and helpful. Neither beaming with energy or smiles or putting in too much effort but manage to provide a decent level of customer service.

The rooms are standard budget level hotel rooms and are clean and my room was well maintained. I only stay in HI Express as I am a PC Gold and working my way towards Platinum other wise I probably would not stay at this hotel, not only out of dislike for the budget style hotel but the fact that I think HI Express are seriously overpriced.

£75 was the rate. For this is your budget room and lets not forget the "Free" Breakfast ("Free" meaning they are not charging you separately for it but it is disguised into your rate.) The Breakfast consists of watered down orange juice, reheated sausages, powdered egg and some pastries. Plus the fact the hotel is slightly out of the city centre. There are other alternative budget hotels with similar or better standards at a lower rate and more in the centre. It's a no brainer really.

In conclusion, a standard budget hotel, hard beds, flat pillows, ok staff, overpriced, awful food and not worth the money they charge, choose one of the other hotels in the city centre for more bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Josh839

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you feel that the Holiday Inn Express is not a brand for you.
Our location out of the centre of town offers the free parking that is not available in town and the ease of access to the hotel and town centre delights many of our guests.
We are continually looking to improve our offering and your comments are useful in this regard, thank you.
I trust that we will be of service again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
976 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
932 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: $68 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing